We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Rivers Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Rivers Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   437 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way to Portland.The room was really ok, clean and big enough. We knew that breakfast was not included, the price was alright for that.
We looked at the room before we checked in.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review from your stay in September at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and are pleased that you were happy with your room. We strive to keep our rates reasonable and certainly comparable to the area, with or without breakfast. We always encourage potential guests to look before they purchase and in most cases they do in fact purchase. Thank you again for your review. If in the area we certainly hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
53
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newark, de
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was surprised reading the latest reviews. Our room was a good size and it looked like it had been renovated recently. It was also very clean. The lady at the front desk was very helpful. We ate at a restaurant - Khun Thai - that she recommended and had a delicious and reasonably priced meal. We also were not bothered by any noise but we asked for a quiet room when we made the reservation. The motel did not include breakfast but the price reflected that. We went to Mattie's Pancake House and had a much better breakfast than the typical chain motel breakfast and still spent less than our stays at almost all the other motels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review from your stay in September at our hotel. We strive to offer rates that are reasonable and comparable to the area and are glad that you noticed. We have in fact continued to renovate and update the hotel in every year since we have owned it (5 +), and are happy that it shows. We have an extensive directory focusing on suggestions for places to eat and personally check them out as much as possible before recommending. We train our staff to do the same, and are very happy you enjoyed our recommendations. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again if in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I would have to agree with the last few reviews. To me Wild Rivers is vastly over rated on Trip Advisor.

This place is average at best. There are no frills or extras and the rates are up there for what you get. The place is dated and needs some major renos IMO. The furnishings and bed are old. I've thrown better beds away compared to what I had to sleep on. If you wanted any extra shampoo or soap it came at a price. The fridge sounded like it was going to lift off. We had to unplug it for the night. No bath tub, just a shower. Bathroom fan would drive a dog crazy with the noise it made. Located right next to a busy highway so noise can be an issue. Lots of rednecks driving around with loud pickups. Not to mention the poser Harley riders.

The people running it were friendly enough but they are getting pretty good money for what they are offering.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review from your stay In June at our hotel. We have just recently registered to respond to reviews and will be responding to as many as possible starting from the first of June.
We are sorry that your stay was less than enjoyable and that you felt our rates were not comparable for the room reserved. We strive to keep our rates reasonable and comparable to other hotels in the area based on the amenities, cleanliness and condition, again comparable to other hotels in the area. We have recently (in the past 2 years) been continuing to upgrade, renovate, purchase new and update as much as possible. Some of our rooms are still undergoing that process, although unfortunately you were not satisfied with your room. Our signs indicating providing additional soaps and shampoos may be misleading, we are sorry that it occurred to you that you could not get a couple of extras. Our soaps and shampoos are bath and body works which many people like to purchase to take along with them on their travels since most hotels offer only small off brand items. What we have found is that provided someone wishes an extra while they are here, we are happy to do that without charge. The sign is meant to allow for the opportunity to take some with you while saving on having to tie up space in a gift shop type situation. As far as the noisy frig, fan and shower only room you had, we are sorry that you had to endure that and perhaps could have upgraded you at no cost upon request, or been able to resolve it during your stay. We cannot always eliminate completely issues with other guests, and may have been able to address some of those complaints as well, but again we are sorry that you were less than impressed. We will always continue to upgrade, update and repair any issues in the rooms as we can and comments like yours help us to focus on the important ones. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Having read the reviews of this place, I chose to ignore them at my peril. We'd read that crescent city was a bit ho-hum so decided to stay in brookings. Don't. Stay in crescent city or in brookings harbour or drive on to Coos Bay. The room was small, smelled of smoke (even tho non-smoking). Internet didn't work, lots of road noise, worried about bed bugs. Yuk. Also don't really recommend the Flying Gull restaurant for evening meal... it's a bit strange! We're glad to be gone

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review from your stay In June at our hotel. We have just recently registered to respond to reviews and will be responding to as many as possible starting from the first of June.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Brookings. A couple of our rooms could be considered small, although we are actually known for the size, space and cleanliness of our rooms. The previous owner of this hotel had modified some rooms to suit their clientele over the years and we have been attempting to renovate and modify them again to suit the ever changing desires of our guests. Unfortunately sometimes this takes time. We are concerned about your dissatisfaction for the room booked, but certainly may have been able to upgrade your room at no additional cost, provided we had an upgrade available at the time. State law does not allow for smoking within 10 feet of any doorway of any “public” space in Oregon, and unfortunately this is hard to enforce at all times. Therefore if someone had smoked close to your room either prior to your arrival, or during your stay this may have caused the smoke smell in the non smoking room, however, again we should have been able to resolve that issue had we been notified. We apologize that you did not feel comfortable, but can assure you that we inspect all rooms diligently and are inspected at least once per year by the county health department as are all hotels and have never had any issues with any bugs, particularly that bug. Again I am sorry you felt you had to worry about that, since it certainly was not the case. Finally, we recommend restaurants based on what our guests are looking for in price range, food type, availability and location. If we recommended the Flying Gull restaurant to you, I am sorry that we did so based on your dissatisfaction at that location. Thank you for your comments about this restaurant we will consider that very strongly in recommending places to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I booked 3 nights here through Hotels.com over the Memorial Day weekend with my wife and 5 pound Chihuahua. This meant we were put in a "pet friendly" room which was evident by the left over dog hair on the floor from the last guest. The hotel is located on the main road through town and sits very near it. The hotel rooms are accessed outside and you can pull right up to your room. Our first surprise was finding a trail of ants inside the refrigerator after placing some food in it. I called the front desk and told him about it. He told me he'd open a work order on it. Okay. Disposed of food and pressed. We then went to sleep but noise from the road traffic made it difficult. Our first wake up came shortly after falling asleep when a full sized diesel pickup truck pulled up to our front door and idled for a bit. An hour later our obviously intoxicated neighbors began leaving and entering their room. Each time they would knock loudly on the door to be let in. This went on for a while. We got up early the next day and were feeling anything but rested. I went and spoke to Cameron at the front desk and explained how our night went. I requested to change rooms. He said "I can put you on the second floor in the back no problem". I said "Great, we'll stop back by this evening". We got back at 7:30 pm and he hands me keys to a room right next to the one we were in the night before! I asked him what happened to the room he promised and he says "Sorry, I misspoke. That room is not pet friendly". I asked him why he changed the room and didn't call me. He said "I couldn't find your phone number". I later found out that he didn't know to call Hotels.com to get it. At this point there was no way we were going to pay good money to stay in a room like that again. Unfortunately there were no hotel rooms available anywhere and we were left with no choice but to cut our trip short and head home. We drove for 4 hours before finding a room and made it home the next day. I then had go about getting a refund for the two unused nights I prepaid though Hotels.com. A few days later I called Ken the owner and explained everything. He initially offered no apologies but told me he would look into it and call me back. A few minutes later he did so and then apologized for everything and approved the refund. Sorry doesn't undo the nightmare Ken.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review during your stay over Memorial weekend. We have just recently registered to respond to reviews and will be responding to as many as possible starting from the first of June.
We were surprised to hear about ants in your refrigerator upon checking into your room. Certainly we make every effort to avoid this in all of our rooms, by thoroughly spraying for pests around the outside of the building. Additionally we inspect all rooms cleaned each day and should have caught this. We apologize that in this case apparently we did not. It is uncommon for ants to be inside the refrigerator though, so we will make sure to double check each time. We recently have installed hardwood laminate flooring in our pet friendly rooms to avoid issues with carpet and pets. We sweep, dry mop and wet mop every pet friendly room not only in the stay over rooms but of course in the check out rooms. Unfortunately sometimes it is difficult to get all of the animal hair out, but we make every effort to do so. It was extremely disturbing to hear about the noise from the other guests, we do not tolerate this and upon being informed of such noise complaints at any time of day (we have a person living at the hotel and an emergency extension number available), we immediately address the issue and would certainly have put an end to it had we been notified when it was happening as we have done in the past. When Cameron was notified of the issues and the desire to move, he made a mistake which does happen at times. Unfortunately he did not check to ascertain that you had a pet, although he should have known this from your room number. This has become a training issue and will most certainly not occur again. In this case, however your family suffered for it and for that I am extremely sorry. We did honor the discount through Hotels.com for the unused portion of your stay per your request. We are saddened however, that this was not enough. Again please accept my apologies, we will learn from this and correct occurring issues moving forward immediately when they occur. Thank you for the opportunity to address your issues and improve our customer service as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend, other motels were booked. The price is fair, the room was very clean, which means a lot. Tiniest room we've ever seen, about 10' X 10', oonsey bathroom. Small fridge and microwave. The room was next to the laundry room, so they started being noisy at 6:30 AM. They started hammering on the wall at 7:30 AM. When we complained they didn't deny hammering a nail in the wall. It was fine, average, but we felt a little cheated with the noise of the highway right in front, and the noise of the laundry room.

Room Tip: Make sure to NOT stay by the laundry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review during your stay over Memorial weekend. We have just recently registered to respond to reviews and will be responding to as many as possible starting from the first of June.
We are extremely glad that you found the room very clean as this is something we pride ourselves on and have many positive comments about our housekeeping, and particularly the recent renovations. We are also glad you found the price fair as again we strive to provide value based on the room type reserved. We are sorry that you found it noisy next to the laundry room, unfortunately all of our deluxe single queens are in this area, however, we do not start our housekeeping staff until 10am and our office doesn’t even open until 8am, although we do have an overnight watchman for emergencies. We are confused as to your mention of noise from the laundry room based on the hours we keep. The hammering should not have occurred until after our housekeeping staff started as well, therefore again we apologize that you were disturbed and we will make every effort to avoid this and resolve any and all noise complaints from our guests, provided we are able to do so. Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stopped here on a two-day road trip up Highway 101 from the SF Bay Area to Portland OR. What a find - comfortable, clean, well-apportioned, big comfy bed, friendly staff, and very reasonably priced when booked in advance. The reviews said it all. Large fridge, and a microwave in situ to reheat the left-over burrito we couldn't finish at dinner. Pet-friendly too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Also strongly recommended is the Flor de Mexico restaurant just two blocks down on the main road - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Rivers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rivers Motor Lodge

Address: 437 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wild Rivers Motor Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Rivers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rivers Motor Hotel Brookings
Wild Rivers Hotel
Wild Rivers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.