We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese and Grill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onion Grill Steak & Seafood

Onion Grill Steak & Seafood
835 Chetco Ave., Brookings, OR 97415
541 469-8818
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 43 Restaurants in Brookings
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chinese and Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Chinese lunch special (sweet and sour chicken) was great and had plenty on the plate. Who would of thought a place with a name like Onion Grill was great Chinese? But it is. I will have to try the grill side and seafood dishes. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“To many choices but fun friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

There is American and Chinese choices. It was ok food but the service and friendliness was fantastic. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped for a quick dinner before heading back to Medford. Took my Mom for a drive to the coast and saw the sign Onion Grill, it just drew us in. Letty, the owner waited on us herself. She was the best. Helpful, delightful and attentive. We had Fish and chips, light and flavorful. I chose the Crab Louie. There was a nice pile of crab and the presentation was lovely. Prices are reasonable and there are lots of choices. Two menus, one American and one Chinese. We would return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best hamburger joints in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Their are two huge menus: American and Asian

So you can satisfy most people's appetite. They have specialties, such as their Sweet Potato Fries.

I have not been disappointed once and have eaten there frequently.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The one good thing about this restaurant is the sweet, cheerful owner. It makes you really want to like the place, but the food is disgusting. There are 2 menus...an American menu and a Chinese menu. Nothing at all on the American menu appealed to me, so I ordered the junior dinner of sweet and sour pork with chicken fried rice from the Chinese menu. It arrived at our table cold. I hadn't eaten all day and was very hungry, so I ate the cold deep fried pork in artificially colored sauce...very hard and dry. The fried rice tasted like rancid oil and had little bits of dried out chicken and a few piece of green onion in it, but otherwise no seasonings at all. It tasted really horrible, especially because it was cold. I tried to spice things up with some hot chili oil, which again tasted rancid and was not hot at all. So I finally gave up. One of my friends had ordered won tons, which she didn't eat because they were undercooked. Another of my friends got Wor Won Ton soup which she shared with me. It was unbelievably bland. No flavor at all. I grew up eating Chinese food. This food was really, really bad. For some reason the place was busy...fairly noisy. I can't imagine why people eat here. There are some really good restaurants in town, but this is not one of them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onion Grill Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Onion Grill Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onion Grill Steak & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.