We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowden's, a beautiful, relaxing respite.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
14626 Wollam Road, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Brookings B&B and Inns
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“Lowden's, a beautiful, relaxing respite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We keep coming back because of easy access to the mouth of the Winchuck River and Pacific Ocean. Then there are the gracious hosts who do whatever they can to make us comfortable. The rooms are fresh and clean with excellent bedding. We like to bird and have views of kingfishers, cormorants, osprey, hummingbirds etc.. We have seen otters playing close by in the river. There are many adventures, restaurants, and wonderful beaches near by. Lowden's is a great place to unwind and enjoy nature.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the up river end of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nubsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wow, I couldn't disagree more with the last reviewer, who found it "smelly." We loved this B&B from top to bottom and in between, and didn't find it at all smelly! It was very clean and fresh-smelling, actually. We also had a night of our honeymoon here, and we wanted to stay a week, we loved it so much. The views of the river AND the ocean were amazing, our unit was spacious, complete with a bathroom with two sinks and a deep tub for soaking, a fireplace in the huge bedroom, a comfy bed, a deck, storage places, games, movies on a bazillion disks, and every convenience we could dream up and poke around looking for. Our host and hostess were the friendliest and most accommodating couple imaginable. We found them delightful to talk to, and could easily imagine being friends with them if we lived in the area. Our walk to the beach was a great adventure; we actually enjoyed the challenge of the downward climb (on stairs that were not at all rickety) and the driftwood scramble. In lieu of breakfast being served (Our hosts needed to be up and out early the following day, and we arrived late without a reservation), we were given a break on the nightly cost, which we thought was very fair. We hated to leave this wonderful location, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Because there are only two apartments, reservations are a must; we were lucky that they had had a cancellation that evening and had our unit available. It was "meant to be."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wanted to like this place-- especially since the couple who runs it are clearly so nice. But this place was just not up to par. First of all, our room smelled. Like dog, probably, maybe cat. You'd think since its only doors are big sliders that it could easily be aired out (the owners have a couple dogs-- not sure if they are where the smell came from). When we stayed it was pretty cold and foggy, so we couldn't air it out.

And the furnishings are VERY dated. Surprisingly so. It felt like staying in a great aunt's basement. Complete with flies and very spotty TV/cable reception. We ended up watching something on our computer, because the wifi was more reliable than the tv.

It was right on the beach, but you had to climb down some pretty dilapidated steps, through an overgrown path (that seems like it would be pretty simple to trim back, if they took the time), and then across some huge pieces of driftwood. We also had hoped for a little more privacy. Since two rooms share the same deck, even though we had a nice view, we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy. Not as romantic on our honeymoon as we had hoped.

Upside- free wifi.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 9elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My and I wife stayed here on our honeymoon up the coast. It was very quiet and peaceful. The lodging is apartment style with your own bathroom, bedroom and living room. The house is on the beach with a great view. The host is very nice and helpful. There really isn't a breakfast, scones and fruit, but it is good and we knew that going in so we were not upset. I recommend this place for a clean and relaxing get away.

If you are heading north, ask the host about the petting Zoo!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great spot for a weekend retreat! If you're looking for a few days of peace and quiet, with nothing more than the rumble of the ocean in the background, Lowden's is the place for you. The B&B has two large suites (we traveled as a pair of couples and rented them both) with separate bedrooms and living area. The owners are thoughtful, friendly, and accommodating; they really go the extra mile to ensure guests feel comfortable and welcome. The best part, all this comes with a very reasonable price tag, comparable to that of motels in the area. As the owner explained, there is one set price regardless of the season, so you never feel "price gouged". B&B property is ocean front, and a phenomenal opportunity for individuals who enjoy walking the beach.

Room Tip: This is a two suite bed and breakfast; both suites are similar; however, the north facing suite has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Advisor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

They have two rooms to rent - each is actually a separate small apartment with bedroom, bath, and living room. Quite comfortable, not fancy. Long quiet beach to walk on at low tide. Excellent ocean view. Helpful and friendly (but not intrusively so) owners. Well off the main road in a residential part of town. Rooms have coffee maker, microwave, dishes,and fridge. We stayed three nights and would stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank steveEugene_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

After having spent two nights in a small cabin near Crater Lake, the suite at Lowden's felt so roomy and comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed returning there in the late afternoons after experiencing the grandeur of the redwoods and exploring the beautiful coast. We enjoyed having breakfast in our suite and looked forward each morning to having Barbara's delicious homemade scones with fresh fruit. The view from our window and balcony was picturesque and the sound of the waves was oh so soothing. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Lowden's to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linjo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
3.6 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
3.5 mi away
Howonquet Lodge
Howonquet Lodge
#1 of 2 in Smith River
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
5.2 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
18.1 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14626 Wollam Road, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing