We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service, OK food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chowder House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chowder House
16261 Highway 101 S Ste 2, Brookings, OR. Tel: 541-412-7827, Brookings, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 43 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boulder Creek, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Average service, OK food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We got the feeling that they were probably trying, but had failed to grasp the basics. One order of chowder failed to arrive, and our server gave conflicting responses when pressed. Fish and chips was good. Overall we felt that they didn't care enough about their customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, Fast and large portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Chowder was very good. Green salad w/ pecans n dried cranberries w/ blue cheese was great. Fish n chips were good. We ordered out, and the missed a bowl of chowder...there was still enough food to go around, so no biggie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Chowder and Clam Strips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here with friends and the service was friendly and quick. We all loved the chowder and fish & chips and clam strips and chips. Our friend really liked the fish tacos.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh New Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Mermaids Muse B&B in Brookings Oregon. During those three days we got to search around for good noon and evening meal sites. One of those was The Chowder House. What great service! They offer excellent food and while plainly furnished (form follows function) the completely new interior was pristine and comfortable. The staff was attentive and they even prepared a special meal for my wife who had to be careful about an allergy. The special Asian Salad with chicken breast strips on top was perfect and they said they might add this to their menu. My clam chowder bowl was the best I've had and that is high praise since the previous favorite was the chowder from The Nautical Inn nearby in Smith River CA. They are newly opened having remodeled a building previously used as a restaurant. My only advice would be to add some amenities to the new restroom and turn up the thermostat in there!! I noticed they were doing take out for local business workers and they have a large space for doing special party occasions. Overall, it is a solid lunch spot with praise worthy food and we will return there in our future trips to the amazing coast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to The Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.