We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croissant Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakery By The Sea

Bakery By The Sea
1105 Chetco Ave, Suite A, Brookings, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 46 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Croissant Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Guess I don't have to travel to Europe for that elusive butter flaky bakery treat. As explained in previous posts...open Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Guess I will plan my visit to Harris Beach tomorrow with coffee and flaky pastry. Excellent pies, ham & cheese filled treats and breads. Ir is as good as everyone says! Yummy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
“A Bite of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This little family owned hole in the wall bakery has the best scones I have ever tasted. The aroma when you open the door will take you back to your grandma's kitchen on baking day and you end up buying more than you planned just because it smells so amazing. It is not a restaurant, just a tiny spot with a table in the hall and mouth watering goodies at extremely reasonable prices. Only open a few days a week around the weekend but they do sell at the seasonal local outdoor market on Wednesday and it is worth the trip just to buy their pastries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, OK USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Not a sit down restaurant Has one table in the hallway. Difficult to find but worth it for their sweet and savory pastries. Look for the yellow bakery sign and go inside down the hall. Takes cash only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homemade goodness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My sister and I had a girls getaway weekend in Brookings and before we left I made sure to look at Trip Advisor for some of the restaurant's to check out while we were there. I read the reviews for Bakery By The Sea and decided to make that a "must go" before we headed to the beach for the day on the Saturday that we were there. I was really surprised at how small the bakery was and admittedly my sister and I were both a little overwhelmed by all the racks of pastries and numerous goodies. As first time visitors we were a little lost without a menu or list of items available. And when we asked the young lady about items she really didn't provide much help or offer suggestions as to what might be their "best sellers". So my sister and I chose something quickly and it happened to be the ham and cheese croissants. They were fabulous! It was obviously fresh, great flavor, and baked perfectly! I'd like to go back the next time I'm in Brookings and hopefully check out some of their other homemade goodies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Man oh man....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

"These are the best croissants I've ever had!" - quote from my fiancee, and I'd have to agree. I've traveled France and Italy and always made the local boulangerie a stop for morning croissant and cappuccino. This place rivals them all. Flaky pastry, lots of butter, with a focus on quality ingredients - the young baker has an obvious passion for his craft. Almond and chocolate croissants are a highlight, the fresh sourdough loaves are hearty with a wonderful tang. The location isn't immediately obvious (see other reviews) but it's well worth hunting down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakery By The Sea also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bakery By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakery By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.