We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it claims” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Coast Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Coast Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1216 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Eugene, Oregon, Usa
1 review
“Not what it claims”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are more things to say that was wrong with mine and my family stay than there were to say was right. First their web site leads you to believe that internet is available in the rooms, however, we could never get it to work most of the time. The service at the front desk was hit or miss depending on when you went to the front desk. The web site claims that you could have up to five people in a room (two adults, 3 kids all under age of 14), however, with one of the trips to the front desk for more towels we are in formed that more than 4 to a room was a fire hazard. Something that was not pointed out when we booked the room, or when we checked in. Other than that the room were clean. My recommendation is that if you are staying for a few days, you have 4 or less in your party, and you are not in your room other than to sleep then it is a okay place to stay when you are in Brooking.

Room Tip: I would be more specific on your web site and at the front desk when people are looking to book a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_Galvez_GM, General Manager at Blue Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review!

Our website does not claim that there is internet in every room, it states clearly that it is available in our Lobby (http://www.bluecoastinnsuites.com/rooms.html). It will be available in all of our rooms within the next couple of weeks. Our website does not say that you may have 5 people in a room with 2 Queen Size beds, the maximum occupancy in that room as clearly stated on our website is 4 (http://www.bluecoastinnsuites.com/rooms.html). This has not changed since you booked your room. It is both a company policy, and is based on Oregon State Fire Code. I allowed for an exception in your case because you had smaller children.

We did not mislead you, and were nothing but accommodating to you and your family during your stay. I hope that if you ever pass through Brookings again, you consider us for your lodging needs. We have a 2 Bedroom Suite that has a maximum occupancy of 6 and would accommodate your family comfortably.

Jeremy Galvez
General Manager
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    11
    15
    18
See reviews for
22
22
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutherlin, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A horrible place to stay. The rooms smelled old and musty and the curtains, carpet, and bedspreads were filthy. The room was very warm with no air conditioning and when we went to open the window it was covered with mold. We were originally booked for three nights but didn't even make it through one; we checked out and luckily found another motel down the road. The condition of the room really bothered our six-year-old daughter who suffers with allergies. Don't stay in this motel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_Galvez_GM, General Manager at Blue Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Management has opted out of responding to this review due to factual inconsistencies.


Jeremy Galvez
General Manager
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my first & second time staying @ Blue Coast Inn as I had just recently found it. It is a shame that other travelers have made some rooms shoddy and spoiled it for others! My room(s) were adequate with the micro/fridge, TV and for the most part, WiFi worked. I'm sure that Jeremy & April, who I found to be most kind, courteous and accommodating, will be a great asset to the property once they get their feet under them!! How hard it must be to still be unpacking and trying to take over for someone else! On a very positive note, I absolutely LOVE their freebies!! Especially the lovely smell of the soap! My towels were great - fluffy, etc. And the ocean view was breathtaking - I loved being able to seat in the room and just stare at it, watching all the subtle changes! And for me, being able to open the door for fresh air without feeling threatened/uncomfortable was great! I look forward to returning there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_Galvez_GM, General Manager at Blue Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure having you here (both times). I hope your drive back up to Portland was enjoyable, and I'm glad you got back safely. I'm pretty sure I gave you my email address when you were here, but in case I didn't, it's gm@bluecoastinnsuites.com. Let me know if you get any feedback from that website we were talking about.

Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon! :)

Jeremy Galvez
General Manager
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just had a recent week at this Motel, it now has new Managers, a young couple who made our stay vey comfortable. Our room was a great price and had all we needed---also it was very quiet even with travelers next door. April & Jeremy plan to improve the Continental breakfast as they will with many things to your liking. Do try the Motel and I think you will agree with our recommendations, thank you, The Kennedy's, California.

Room Tip: Corner suites very quiet and better view with no HWY noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_Galvez_GM, General Manager at Blue Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for posting such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It was a genuine pleasure having you here. Please feel free to give us a call (541) 469-2161, or send me an email (gm@bluecoastinnsuites.com) if you need anything, or just to chat. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


Jeremy Galvez
General Manager
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After reading the reviews decided to check it out. Older but clean. Under new management. They are in the process of painting and changing carpets. Yes there were stains in the carpet but room was clean and room smelled good. I came to the coast for the weather and the scenery not to sit in a room. After all if it is clean and the bed was great what else do you really need???

Room Tip: Most rooms have a ocean view if you are standing at window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_Galvez_GM, General Manager at Blue Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will consider staying with us again next time you're in Brookings. If you give us a call at (541) 469-2161 and mention your Tripadvisor review, we will give you an additional 5% off our already unbeatable rates! Again, thank you, and we hope to see you again soon!

Jeremy Galvez
General Manager
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buyck, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Unlawful credit card charges to my card for damages that were not done by us. Cigarette burns everywhere, dingy dirty rooms, and very rude front desk person. BEWARE!!!!!!! Wish I would have seen the reviews on this motel before we walked into the fire Was there on business and was tired, and just wanted a place to sleep. Im not real picky, but maybe I learned from this experience and will do the research FIRST before I head out, so as not to be put in this position again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_Galvez_GM, General Manager at Blue Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I want to assure you that we are actively and aggressively working to improve our property and our guest service standards now that we're under new management. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a clean, quiet, comfortable room, and outstanding guest service. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Jeremy Galvez
General Manager
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Shame on us we didn't read the reviews..... We chose this place because they allowed dogs. We opened the door to notice right away the dirty draperies looked like some one wiped their mouth and hands on them. Room had a bad odor, tried to spray perfume around. Walls, trim, doors dirty damaged . The bathroom door was badly damaged cracked and missing wood just painted over (like that's a repair) the little bathroom medicine cabinet was missing doors dented and very rusty and dirty inside. Towels were so thin literally threads , just dirty like a old gas station bathroom. The bedspreads were old, had dirt marks on them and burn holes , removed them because they were disgusting. The blanket was thin and completely held together by the pilled fabric that was left. The sheets were so thin you could see through them. The lamp on the night stand was pitted and rusty and the shade was filthy. The carpet was filthy didn't want to walk on it without shoes.TV did not have a very clear picture on most channels. There was no alarm clock or coffee maker. Our dog slept in his kennel, so he was the only one who got a comfortable nights sleep. Funky heater and no air conditioning It was too gross to sleep or shower there It should be called D&D MOTEL(DIRTY AND DISGUSTING) we should have been paid the $74.26 to stay the night there. We would have been better off sleeping in our car. Live and learn, read the reviews!!!!!!!

Room Tip: back rooms away from the street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Coast Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Coast Inn & Suites

Address: 1216 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Coast Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resident Manager on Site. Office Hours: 7:00am to 10:00pm - Open 7 Days a Week. Continental Breakfast (Pastry, Coffee and Tea) 7:00am - 11:00am, Daily. All Single Level Rooms, 3 Tiers, with Ocean Views from every room. 20 Minute walk to Harris Beach. Close to Restaurants and Stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Coast Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Coast Hotel Brookings
Blue Coast Inn And Suites
Rodeway Inn Brookings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Coast Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.