We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain/Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Coast Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Blue Coast Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1216 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Brookings
Eagle Point, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bargain/Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

While the price to stay is a bargain, the website needs to be updated as it states 'continental breakfast' which only consists of pieces of muffin & coffee or tea. 'Free WiFi' in guest rooms is also promised but it is only available in the office lobby. There is no Ice machine. The room/facility is old, but fairly quiet & beds were cozy. No A/C and only the bathroom window opened (no screen). Very close to Harris Beach & restaurants. Joyce (manager) is friendly. Average overall stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the complex, which I recommend. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    10
    11
    15
See reviews for
18
21
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

...Not to mention that the place is in poor condition. The shower head is way too low, beds are old and creaky, sheets are not changed frequently on multi-day stays. Sheets are thin, towels are at best ok. Carpet is in poor condition with heavy staining. There is not sufficient room between the bed and the wall, about 15", to get to the closet and bathroom. Wifi is very poor. You have to sit outside for decent reception, and even then it comes and goes. Walls are thin, and if your neighbor turns the tv up all night it can be disturbing. The vent fan in the bathroom does not work, and there is really no ventilation without opening the front door.

But mainly, expect your phone to ring with some sort of trumped up complaint out of thin air. You will be treated to Joyce's own particular insanities, expressed with the vehemence and venom that only a control freak can muster. Yeah, this is the same manager that seems so sweet when you check in. On duty from 7 AM to 10 PM, 7 days a week, and always watching. I think she needs a break. Oh, and if you dare to set foot in the lobby for coffee, she'll nail you there too. At first I was just bewildered, later I realized that this was a program of harassment. Too bad we had pre-paid.

Ice is available for a charge during office hours.

I added some photos

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My room was a very nice size, was clean, and had a refrigerator, microwave, two upholstered chairs with a table, and a full closet. Everything was a little shabby, but not nasty. The room was overall pleasant and the bed comfortable. Good location (on Hwy 101 right in town) and excellent price. Only complaint was inadequate outlets & one didn't work.

Room Tip: Stay in building 2 or 3 to be back from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The price of the room was Ok for what we got. I have a hard time walking and told the desk that from when I booked the room. They put us on the three row up top where parking is not the easiest but we are parked infront of our room. There wasa couple next door who rent the room for a two week stay and smoke out side. We are non smokers and the room has no windows that open so we open the door to just get smoke right into our room. We have a five pound chi. dog that we took care of totally and was charge $8.00 for but children stay for free. That is my first problem, and the second was the smokers next to my smoke free room, windows that don't open incase of a fire and the queen bed had one foot of walkway from one room to the bath room so you walk side ways if you go into the bathroom. Coffee was good and so was the store buoght muffins cut into four ways. I wont stay there again, I will head on down the road to a Motel that doesn't charge for a little dog to stay at, am I made of money? I think there are safety rules for walk ways in a room like this. Not again.

Room Tip: Swimming pool has not been used in five years, rooms are being remodeled put needs new windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Helpful, friendly staff. Did not have the continental breakfast - went fishing very early in the morning. Comfortable beds, but pillows a bit flat (bring your own head pillows). Room was clean and included a microwave and small refrigerator and TV. Bathroom could use a separate towel bar. Had a great shower because the shower head was not a low-flow variety. The wall heater is very effective, but quite noisy. Nice big chest of drawers for storage of your stuff and setting things on top of. Front door needs new weatherstripping since you can see lots of daylight around the perimeter. We stayed in Room 34. More convenient wall outlets would be nice. Friends of ours stayed next door in #35 and were quite pleased with their room as well. We don't like paying $100+ for a motel room per night and think this place is a very good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great value. I booked this this year based on finding it servicable last year. The breakfast is still coffee and muffins, but the rooms are cleaner, the bed was new, and there is quite a bit of space in the room. It advertises new management. Power, heat, internet, plumbing, hair drier, etc, all in good shape and working. There was a crew renovating two rooms in the morning when we left, and it looks like they are continuing to improve the place.

And it's still a fantastic value for the price.

Still remaining: The carpet (ecch, but it's indoor/outdoor and the backing is failing and no amount of cleaning will do any good) and the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Rooms are not attractive and not totally clean. Continental breakfast is a sweet roll, even though they advertise one and have a huge room with fireplace and tables to serve something worthwhile. No hair dryers, towels like tissue paper, inconsistent or loud heaters, and the blanket on one of our beds would not qualify to be sold at Good Will.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Coast Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Coast Inn & Suites

Address: 1216 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Coast Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resident Manager on Site. Office Hours: 7:00am to 10:00pm - Open 7 Days a Week. Continental Breakfast (Pastry, Coffee and Tea) 7:00am - 11:00am, Daily. All Single Level Rooms, 3 Tiers, with Ocean Views from every room. 20 Minute walk to Harris Beach. Close to Restaurants and Stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Blue Coast Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Coast Inn And Suites
Blue Coast Hotel Brookings
Rodeway Inn Brookings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Coast Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.