We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Oregon coastline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookings

Brookings
Brookings, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Brookings
Type: Beaches, Cultural
Attraction details
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Southern Oregon coastline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

While staying in Cresent City, Ca. we took a day trip up to see the rocky coastline of southern Oregon. What a beautiful sight. There are these huge rocks out in the ocean and dramatic cliffs. The highway has many pull off areas for photos. Brookings is a small town with a few decent restaurants but the coastline itself is the main attraction. Be on the lookout for many bicycists riding down the highway with you.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    11
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay if Traveling to Redwood Nat'l Park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a marvelous stay in this cool coastal town on Hwy 101 near the Oregon-California state lines. We stayed in the Portside Suites near the harbor, and had some nice meals at Blue Water Cafe next door, as well as at Pancho's Mexican Food on 101. We bought reasonably priced gas and meal makings at the local Fred Meyer store. We enjoyed watching the pelicans flying and diving nearby over the Bay. The fishing is spectacular! The locals seemed friendly, for the most part. Best of all, we were only a 25-minute drive away from Crescent City, CA which is the jumping-off point for the viewing the "world's tallest trees" in Redwood National Park. In one day, we were able to drive through amazing groves of these huge old-growth giants. Our favorite place in Redwood Park was actually the Jedidiah State/Nat'l Park, where ai got my passport stamped at the welcoming visitors center, and enjoyed the exhibits and gift shop. From there, we drove the incredible scenic loop through the huge, stately trees. The road was unsaved and dusty, and the fog was thick in some places, but even still we gasped at the mystical beauty of this place and dropped our jaws in amazement at the old-growth forest. (Please note: travel trailers cannot make it through this narrow loop among the tree giants, so leave whatever you're towing at your campground!) We drove through three scenic loops and all the way to Eureka, CA in Humboldt County, where we had an early dinner, and then returned to Brookings before dark. Overall, we were delighted to have chosen Brookings as our Basecamp for the Redwoods, and plan on returning!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Small town, with plenty to offer. Camping, restaurants, banking, bowling, fishing, little shops, and during the summer the city/county puts on nice activities for the entire family usually at the Marina. Vendors a plenty. I love that they've introduced a Pirate theme once a year!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Rent the small two bedroom cottage called The Fishin' Shack. Reasonable prices and small, quaint home. Walking distance to Fred Myers, restaurant and a nice beach! We've vacationed here going on 5 years in a row and will retire here one day! Friendly people, beautiful city, great parks (visit Azalea Park) and good food.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lots of history in Brookings including recent Tsunamis triggered by the Japanese earthquake. Lovely beaches as well. We also learned of the Brookings effect which gives this area warmer temperatures in summer compared to the whole of the Oregon Coast.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookings also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.