We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Chinese Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dragon Palace
1025 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415
541-412-8686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 43 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We tired another Chinese restaurant (Onion Grill) last time we were in Brookings and prefer the food at Dragon Palace.

My husband got the Shrimp Chow Yuk and I got the Kung Pao Deluxe (chicken, shrimp and beef mix). Service was excellent - we had our hot tea within minutes of sitting down. Our food was good and the Kung Pao was just hot and spicy enough and wasn't overpowered with the taste of ginger.

The prices seem to be in line with most Chinese places - hard to find a Chinese dinner under $10 any more but we got two meals out of ours so it ends up being pretty reasonable for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Chinese in an Unlikely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went to Dragon Palace on a random craving during a recent visit to Brookings. On my arrival the place was dead, but was happily greeted by the server with a menu, I placed a to go order and was offered tea and water while I waited. The wait was maybe 5 minutes. I was extremely surprised by the quality of the food when I sat down to eat. I ordered a combo with Chicken, BBQ Pork, Fried Shrimp, and Pork Fried Rice. I'll rank the chicken as the best, but they were all surprisingly great. It's a shame the locals are not flocking what seems to be a hidden gem. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“OK Food, Good, Friendly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I found the food to be a little bland, but the portions were good. Prices are a little high for Chinese food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food to Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Best chinese take away that we have tried in a long time. However, the portions are so big, I wish we had bought one meal to share between the two of us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Traditional Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

These chefs have regained the fresh Chinese cuisine, that so many of these restaurants have lost. Their Egg Foo Yung and Chow Mein is made the older way with fresh sprouts instead of the easier and cheaper noodles that most restaurants are now using. The soy sauce is a good quality, And they actually still serve fortune cookies, which most of our Chinese restaurants in this area have stopped using.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Palace also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dragon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.