We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place for a beer and more.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's Tavern

Ken's Tavern
631 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 43 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Great local place for a beer and more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a 70 year old local bar we had the fortune of walking into for a beer after work. The mean bartender has departed and the nice one has stayed. Great local beers on tap! The only drawback is they won't win health awards for the food, but the wings, fried zuchini and onion rings were tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went in about 10:30pm on a Friday night and the place was empty. Had a beer and left - cant say much else but apparently that was an odd occurrence to be empty like that.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant bartender”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was holed up in Brookings for a few days during a cross-country motorcycle ride because my buddy's bike broke down. Ken's seems to be a locals-only joint, as evidenced by the bartender's rather unpleasant attitude toward me and her reluctance to acknowledge or serve me. It was surprising, because I'd just had such a great experience next door at the Pinecone (PC) Tavern, where the bartender/owner indeed wanted my business, and was interesting to talk to. Avoid the redneck Ken's. Check out the Pinecone, Superfly a few blocks off the main drag (for delicious martinis and food), and, to the north on the main drag, the Vista Pub.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best burgers on the coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

If your looking for a great place to unwind and have a delicious burger and fries, then look no further. Ken's tavern is the best place in Brookings to go and get warm friendly service at an incredible price.

Went here with some coworkers, and have been hooked. We had a wonderful time playing pool, darts, slots, eating, drinking and just watching sports while dancing to the music on the jukebox. Did I mention I didn't spend an arm and leg for my food or drinks, this place is the working man's hang out.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Tavern also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Ken's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.