We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Flor De Mexico

La Flor De Mexico
541 Chetco Ln, Brookings, OR 97415
541-469-4102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Rogue River, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were looking for seafood, being on the coast and all. La Flor has a nice selection of offerings. We went at dinner so the price was a little higher. The salsa is good, spicy but not too much and they also bring your a plate of refried beans so you can dip your chips in beans and salsa while you look over the menu. The food was abundant. I ordered a shrimp dish (don't remember the name) and there were a lot of shrimp as well as onions, green peppers and a green tomatillo sauce. The shrimp tasted fresh and was not overcooked - always a danger when ordering shrimp. I thought there was too much lemon - the balance was a little off but good anyway. The rice was really good. The corn tortillas that came with were tasty and, I think, housemade. I asked for regular beans instead of refried and they were good too. The wait staff was attentive but not hovering and responsive to requests. The decor was pleasant - painted wood with Mexican theme. I'd go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    9
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cute interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Of all the Mexican restaurants in Brookings, this one seems better than the rest. The interior design is nice...especially the carved chairs. The food?...it's ok, not great. The buffet is nice and gives you the best variety. The owners are very nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

In our opinion, this is the best Mexican food in Brookings. It is authentic and very tasty. Flor makes her own corn tortillas and her salsa is outstanding!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Coastal California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet, fried ice cream, and potato skins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They have quite the spread for lunch, including enchiladas, meats, taquitos, dessert, and even drinks like horchata. The homemade corn tortillas are excellent, and the fried ice cream is delicious (and HUGE). The potato skins are also very good as they are out of the ordinary with a Mexican spin.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fully enjoy every visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family and I absolutely love this restaurant! EVERYTHING from the chips and salsa to the margaritas are excellent. Flora and her staff treat you like family and they always give you a healthy, authentic serving of delicious food - not to mention their great lunch and salad buffet! I highly recommend this wonderful establishment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Flor De Mexico also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to La Flor De Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flor De Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.