We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sporthaven Marina

Sporthaven Marina
16374 Lower Harbor Rd, Brookings, OR 97415
+1 541-469-3301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Chowder
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful clam chowder and fish and chips! We haven't had a meal there yet that wasn't delicious! They are so friendly and the service is great!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was able to enjoy the outdoor seating and had the fish and chips. It was cooked just right and it was real fish that was nice and flakey. Service was great and will go there next time in Brookings..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worthy of the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had chowder in a bread bowl-wish I had just ordered a regular bowl so I had more chowder. Hubby had Fried Clams-best ever. Child had fish and chips-also perfect. Our meal was under $25.00 and we were full and happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“IT IS NOT JUST THE CHOWDER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Yes, the chowder is the best around, maybe in the state. However, the entire menu is award winning. We know, because we have enjoyed it all. The Calamari is a real treat. The biggest piece and most tender piece you will ever order. One must at least order a cup of their clam chowder with lunch or dinner. Now that Howard and Cindi have been the owners for about a year, Sporthaven is no longer a secret. The restaurant is usually packed, even in the winter. They do have outside seating and the service is fast. The staff is friendly and helpful as are the customers if you are a tourist and have a question. What a treat to eat while watching boats in the harbor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not only a great menu, but definitely the BEST clam chowder in Brookings! Go in & meet chef/owner Howard and his wife Cindy...they'll make you feel like family. Sporthaven is a MUST "go to" when we have out-of-town guests. Of course, it's our fav "go to" anytime! Great location, too. Take a walk around the Port before or after your meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sporthaven Marina also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sporthaven Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sporthaven Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.