We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HARD TO FIND SWEDISH CREPES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mattie's Pancake House

Mattie's Pancake House
15975 Highway 101 S, Brookings, OR 97415-9698
(541) 469-7211
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“HARD TO FIND SWEDISH CREPES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best places ever for Swedish crepes with tons of lingonberry butter. You get 3 large crepes. Service is excellent and the place is cute and clean. Other people in our party got omelets, and they were also good. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    53
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great team.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had breakfast here this am. waitress was great took our order and was very friendly. I work at a restaurant so I am a bit of a service snob. everyone who works there had a smile they all seemed happy to be at work. our coffee was never empty nor was our water. food came out fast and hot. my husband had an italian sausage omlet and said it was the best omelet he has ever had. what a great place. we will be back on our next trip. love love love. oh and super kid friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast before heading to the redwoods to hike. No wait ti be seated. lots of vintage car models line the window sills with please do not touch signs.Great selection of items on the menu. My husband was also excited to hear they had boysenberry syrup for his waffle as that is his absolute favorite and getting harder to find. Our Waitress was very helpful In narrowing down our selections. They also have the option to order just a two eggs omelette instead of three. Nice touch for those of us with smaller appetites! Overall a wonderful breakfast for a Tuesday morning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Food but Typical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food was fresh and good but it was nothing super exciting. I got the senior special - 1 egg, 2 pancakes and 2 pieces of bacon - for $6.50 and my husband got Mary's special omelet for $9.50. (Mary, not Mattie, now owns the place!). Per the menu, the omelet came with your choice of red potatoes or hash browns but they were out of the red potatoes so your only choice was a frozen hash browns pattie which was ok. The coffee was good for $1.75 a cup with free refills.

The waitresses were super - friendly and always there to refill your coffee or to see if you needed anything else.

We loved the décor tho - lots of old model cars sitting on the window sills, pictures of cars from the good old days so we had fun looking at them.

We got there early (7:30 am) so we didn't have to wait but many times when we drove by here people were lined up to get in.

Depending on where you sit you may have a wee bit of an ocean view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

mattie"s has the best chicken fried steak i have ever had! The staff is very friendly and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattie's Pancake House also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mattie's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mattie's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.