We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to come here often, but the prices have exceeded their quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mattie's Pancake House

Mattie's Pancake House
15975 Highway 101 S, Brookings, OR 97415-9698
(541) 469-7211
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Northern Coastal California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Used to come here often, but the prices have exceeded their quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let me get this out first-- Mattie's has really good food for breakfast and you will not be disappointed in terms of flavor if you choose the restaurant. The strawberry lemonade is also very good. However, the food is too expensive for what it is. I used to go here all the time, but it is not really worth the price I pay for what I receive. The portions are ok, but nearly $10 for a breakfast entree is rather steep unless it has avocado or something else "special." The children's portions are not substantial enough for my six or nine year old children, so they have to order from the adult menu which adds to the cost. I think they feel pretty free to charge whatever they want as I do not know of any serious competition for breakfast in Brookings.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    53
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Always eat here when in town! We come to Brookings just to eat breakfast here. We always get great service here! Very friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Best breakfast joint in town! Expect a wait but well worth it. Not open on Sundays which was a huge disappointment the second time we tried to visit, on a Sunday. This was also another gluten free find while vacationing with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Full Portion Plates of Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Being new to the West Coast and adjusting for slightly higher pricing then Texas is taking time, but this Breakfast / Lunch only restaurant is clean, has friendly attentive staff, and large portions of good food. On your table at breakfast you will find Smuckers Grape, Seedless Blackberry, Orange Marmalade and Strawberry Jam for your choice of toasted breads. They have Tabasco instead of Cholula (we find Cholula more flavorable) and if you have a late breakfast forget about needing lunch as you will likely not be hungry. Their omlettes are 3 egg, with hash browns or red potaoes (both good) on the side, and they will do a 2 egg and reduce the price a $1. The most noticable regional difference the few times we have ate there is with the Biscuits and Gravy. They use a sausage in their gravy more like a tame Kilbasa type pink meat link cut into very fine cubes rather then the more flavorable crumbled darker breakfast sausage type patties we are used to. When in Rome :-) ... This place is worth the stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Since Leaving Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hubby and I loved this place. It was a few blocks down from where we were staying. They are only open for breakfast and lunch but not open Sunday's. Well worth the wait if it is crowded. I had the fluffy three egg omelet with crab, swiss, mushrooms and spinach. Everything was fresh, including the mushrooms! Sour dough toast and fruit instead of potatoes and I still had half left over for the next morning. It's on the corner, up above 101 but the blue roof is easy to spot. Owners were friendly as was the waitstaff. Fast friendly service, small and homey atmosphere and to die for crab omelet...made our day! Be sure to check out the model cars that line the windows.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattie's Pancake House also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mattie's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mattie's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.