We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By the Sea Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By the Sea Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added By the Sea Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1545 Beach Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Brookings B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Its hard for me to properly put into words the value of this B&B. Let me first start with the obvious… The VIEW! From the minute we turned the corner to enter the house we lost our breath. A beautiful house on what looks like the edge of the world, we happened to arrive at sunset and it was a sight off of a postcard. The big rocks blocking the shine of what could have been the most perfect sunset, while reflecting off the ocean to create a sparkle that could be seen for miles. Then we walked into the house, greeted by Carroll (the owner) she gave us a tour and told us a little background on the home, it was VERY CLEAN (and I am like an inspector when we travel when it comes to cleanliness). The room had everything you would need and it was presented wonderfully. We stayed in the “Miranda” room and it was beautiful.. the sliding glass door opens to a private beach, the fresh beach air and sound of the waves crashing onto shore are enough to put you in a trance, moving on the bed and bedding were extremely comfortable we had an amazing nights sleep. There is a stairwell leading to the private beach that is an absolute must walk with your morning coffee. In the evening I recommend the hot tub and a glass of wine combined with the soundtrack of the ocean, its paradise! Not only will we recommend this to all of our friends, co workers and family…but we will actively be looking for reasons to travel back to Brookings to visit this little gem nestled on the edge of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The view and beach access are wonderful but we did not care for the inside decor. The breakfast consisted of a little basket of muffin/rolls with a refrigerator containing half-empty jars of jelly, butter and cream cheese--this is a bed and BREAKFAST? We never did meet the owners so I guess they were on their own vacation and I hope found a better place to stay than what we had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Like I said Great View. This place blew my mind the 3 leavel home on a cliff at the beach is a sight to see for this florida boy . My wife loved our cuite room as she called it with all the little angles.The fire place the large paito ,the mist off the water it was graet the owner were just as nice as the view what more can you ask for well look at the phots a must

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

While the rooms and bathrooms are modest, the house has an eccentric charm and the owners are lovely people.

I rated this outstanding for location, location, location. It is truly "By The Sea."

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I spent a night at this B&B while traveling down the Oregon coast. This is a beautiful place right on the ocean. There is an expansive deck that looks out over the beach and a set of stairs that takes you right onto the sand. There are beautiful huge rocks on the beach to explore. The rooms are smallish but very comfortable with sliding glass doors that open onto the deck where you can watch the sunset in rocking chairs. There is a common room on the same level. Upstairs is the breakfast area. The owners are very nice people who serve a wonderful breakfast. I would highly recommend this place. It is worth the money even though the town of Brookings leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

My husband and I have stayed in this Bed and Breakfast 3 times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are small but charming. They each have their own bathrooms. There is a big room called the lodge that has a kitchenette and refrigerator. It does not have the view. The Two view rooms share a huge covered deck that overlooks the ocean. You can walk down some stairs to get to the beach. The views are absolutely amazing. Wonderful furniture to sit on as you listen to the waves crash against the rocks. We even saw whales spouting water. Each room has a TV and electric fireplace. There is a fun common room that has a TV and movies plus many jukeboxes. There is a refrigerator for guests and coffee maker. The owners life upstairs. The breakfast is served upstairs. Breakfast is so very Yummy. Larry and Carol are so much fun to talk to. They make you feel like family.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By the Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1545 Beach Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By the Sea Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.