We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kitanishi

Cafe Kitanishi
632 Hemlock St, Brookings, OR 97415
541-469-7864
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 43 restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The service was friendly and they were very accommodating of my food allergies (no dairy or spice). We sat in the comfy lounge chairs by the windows. The Sushi was excellent! The Dragon Roll was our favorite. We will definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    26
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cafe Kitanishi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the best Japanese restaurants I've ever experienced and I've eaten in plenty of them. Why it's rating is #10 in this guide astounds me. If you like Japanese food it's #1.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Subarashi! Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

www.cafekitanishi.com
Great little find in Brookings Oregon. Terrific menu choices, knowledgeable and pleasant server made this a definite must return spot. Sushi was cut into biteable pieces such that one didn't look like a hamster when eating. Lovely presentation and quick service. Servings were generous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This little hidden gem will surprise diners with it's comfy, welcoming atmosphere. The food is some of the best served in Brookings. Service is quite friendly but adheres to the county slogan: "There's no hurry in Curry." The sushi is quite fresh and well-prepared. The calamari appetizer is the best in the area: crispy large slices (ask for the wasabi aioli for an excellent dipping experience=). The only downside is that it is quite pricey. My husband and I can run up a mountainous tab, so we have ration our visits. It helps to bring your own wine & pay the nominal corkage fee. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Probably wont go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food wasn't anything special especially for the price. The service was sooo slow. It took 3 hours for dinner. The cake was dry and the sushi was very tough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kitanishi also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cafe Kitanishi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Kitanishi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.