We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Holleran's Restaurant and Lounge

O'Holleran's Restaurant and Lounge
1210 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415
(541) 469-9907
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Brookings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Like choices and preparation of the main dish but veggies overcooked and calamari to oily. Staff very helpful and courteous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    12
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fast friendly fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Showed up around 5 on a Saturday night. No reservations. Got us right in and kept the courses moving without rushing. Tasty, nummy, yummy!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had read several reviews before I trip about this restaurant. I was concerned by the negative comments, but my husband wanted Prime Rib so we visited O'Hollerans on our last night in Oregon.
We were greeted quickly and cordially by the hostess when we arrived. She must be psychic - we had called earlier to make reservations and as we walked in, she said "You must be Mr. & Mrs..." I laughed and told her she was right. Because we were on a road trip and needed to leave early the next day (July 4) we had a very early dinner reservation. Our hostess asked us to choose any seats we wanted (only 20% of the room was in use at the early hour) and we were seated beside a window in comfortable, attractive rustic-stylized chairs. Our waitress brought bread and took our drink orders, returning quickly. We both ordered Prime Rib. It was some of the best Prime Rib I've had in years. All the sides (baked potatoes and mixed grilled vegetables) were well prepared and flavorful. The entree was prepared EXACTLY as requested, not too rare or too well cooked, and extremely tasty. We did not have dessert. The only disappointment was the wine selection, but it has a couple of decent Cabernets and Chardonnays. Other varietals were not impressive. Having worked in the restaurant business, I know you have to cellar what will sell to the local audience, but we probably would have spent upwards of $40 for a really nice bottle of red wine. We especially enjoyed conversing with both our server and the hostess throughout our meal, as this was our first visit to Brookings. Great ladies with charming demeanors, both! When we are next in Brookings, we will be sure to stop in at O'Hollerans again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Absolutely EXCELLENT food. Be prepared to pay for the best food in town. Lounge entertainer on Saturday night was great, a sax player of all things in little Brookings. Waitress was attentive but not hovering. Had excellent suggestions for dinner. (I think her name was Angie) She was the younger of the two servers the night we were there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Halibut fresh from the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Best halibut I've ever had!!! Freshly caught, cooked just right -- moist and tender but done. It was prepared with a crunchy topping and two light sauces -- one orange, the other a thread of raspberry -- oooo to die for! The key lime pie also was divine (we split). The service was friendly down-home, as was the atmosphere. Don't be put off by the building's exterior (a basic concrete box). Make reservations. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Holleran's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to O'Holleran's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Holleran's Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.