We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seize Your Sunday Package
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Bend
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Location is great, we walk in the mornings...golfing and shopping is close along with places to eat. We love the breakfast. River view, 2nd floor rooms are the best...having the patio door open at night is a good way to cool off and listen to the river.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We're so glad to have a loyal fan in you, and we appreciate you thoughtfulness in lending us this review. It's a pleasure to share the inviting comforts of our environment and unrivaled hospitality, and we hope to share many more memories with you in you travels ahead. Please be sure to reach out if there's anything we can do to make your returns more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    181
    69
    45
    27
See reviews for
137
199
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I arrived here on a Wednesday evening in June late, hot, tired, hungry, with no reservation and having been turned away at a well-known chain hotel north of town. Almost before I finished speaking, Kendra at reception said, "We need to take care of you!" and promptly did so. I found myself in a lovely suite overlooking/listening to the river with a wine voucher in hand and a breakfast included. Dinner was still being served and Stacey (?) walked me through the possibilities and we agreed on a selection of appies which more than fit the bill. The glass of wine was perfect and falling asleep in the king bed to the sound of the river was magical. Breakfast was a fill your plate buffet with excellent coffee. I took a cup back to "my" balcony and enjoyed the sun until check-out! My experience with this hotel was outstanding. Yes, there are parts that are a bit dated and there is no elevator in the building across the river but the room, the food, the care given by the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were exemplary. I have recommended The Riverhouse to several people and next time, I'm staying for a week!!

Room Tip: Upstairs across the river gets morning sun - perfect for early coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We're so glad to welcome newcomers to our site and inviting comforts, and we're humbled by the kindness of your words. Our team takes great care in affording unrivaled experiences for our guests, and we're thrilled to have accomplished this so successfully for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for an extended visit and to showcasing even more of the hospitality you've come to know of our team, and we encourage you to reach out with anything that might make your return even more enjoyable. Many thanks for the feedback, and safe travels until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I really don't understand how this place is holding a 4 star review! It is outdated, everything looks dirty, and the staff is unfriendly. Some examples of my disappointment - the staff said they were going to bring towels to the pool twice, then We went to the front desk to ask them what was going on and they happened to have towels right behind the desk they could have handed us the first two times. The remote to our TV is Broken, only 2 of 3 lamps works, and the bed feels like a rock. We also were promised a room with a balcony and were actually put I a separate building on the opposite side of the river that had a sliding door that opened to a small piece of concrete with a single dirty lawn chair... Oh and the screen door is also broken. Needless to say, I wish I would have paid half price to stay at a 2 star hotel that is accurately ranked instead of this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
This is not acceptable, and I personally apologize for our performance. It's infrequent to hear that our staff is unfriendly, and there's room to improve if it is ever mentioned; I will address this immediately on your behalf. We cannot be successful if our guests feel this way, and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. All the little items you mentioned must work properly for every guest, and while things might happen when we're busy, we must double-check to ensure everything's functioning as it should. We apologize that this did not happen here. You have mentioned many opportunities for our team to improve, and we're thankful for the feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I might invite you back.

Kindly,
Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The view was great. Room was very clean. There was a fireplace. Comfortable bed. We received a free drink coupon upon arrival and enjoyed it on the patio along the river, the waitress was very nice. They had a beer tasting that evening with Silver Moon. Loved their pale ale. We enjoyed our stay so much we asked to extend another night. They were really busy but were able to accommodate us in different room, but they moved our bags for us. The second room was just as nice as the first room. Queen instead of a King. The breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We're always so happy to welcome newcomers to our property and to share our inviting comforts with you. We're especially glad to hear that our site and attentive services left such an impression on you that we were able to host you again for a second night. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back the next time you're in Bend, and we encourage you to reach out to the team if there's anything we can do to make your return experiences even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved this place! It was even better than we expected! So many things to like!

Our room was on the opposite side of the river from the lobby, and faced the river. We were on the second floor - all buildings have two floors. Our room was a king, and it was large, with a great view of the river! Great balcony with a table and chairs to sit outside and take in the sights and sounds of the river, trees, etc.The room was very large, and had a separate sitting area with a "real" high end couch and coffee table (not the usual plasticky furniture in some hotels). The comfortable bed was huge (it looked even bigger than a king, if that is possible), with beautiful bedding. All room furniture and the bathroom looked recently updated - those other reviews that said that rooms looked dated were way off! The restaurant and lounge look dated, but not the rooms! One neat feature in our room was an additional sink/counter/mirror area just outside the bathroom - have never seen this in a hotel before! It was very convenient for two getting ready in the morning. The room also had a larger than usual refrigerator with a separate freezer area. The room was spotlessly clean (I am very picky). Wi-fi worked fine.

This hotel allows dogs with no charge! Dogs can also sit outside the restaurant/buffet area on the large patio overlooking the river - lovely! We loved walking our dogs on the beautiful hotel grounds.

We did not eat dinner there, but my husband did pick up a beer at the lounge to bring back to our room (good beer selection). We loved the breakfast buffet - good variety and quality, and loved sitting out on that patio next to the river.

If you have dogs or small kids, the second floor rooms might be better, since the outdoor balconies sort of contain them; the sliding doors on the first floor rooms open directly out onto open, non-fenced patios that lead directly to the river.

There were very few negatives about this place. There is no elevator, so be prepared to lug your stuff up the stairs if you are on the second floor (not bad unless you have a lot of heavy stuff). Smoking is not allowed in the rooms, but we did briefly smell smoke coming from outside another room when we were sitting out on our balcony. The address of the hotel on their website is wrong (it lists a place that is several blocks away??) ; we only found the hotel by following signs from a billboard on I-97. It is actually easy to get to from the highway.

We loved this place! It was my favorite hotel we stayed at on a recent road trip. Great, peaceful vibe, nature and beauty all around. Get a river-view room! The views are totally worth it! The prices were very reasonable - a great value, considering how nice this place was! Loved the town of Bend too! Wish we could have stayed longer to explore - we were only there one night. We will return for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Get a river view room! Not pricy, and worth it! Rooms on the opposite side of the river from the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
It's such a pleasure to have shared our site and services with you and to hear that you enjoyed our offerings so thoroughly. As you've noted, we're continually updating our property to afford our guests with the very finest of accommodations, and we hope that you'll afford us the chance to share our continued evolution the next time you're in Bend. Please be sure to reach out; we'd love to build a return experience to rival this first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on our way through town. It was very easy to find and the front desk people were helpful. Our room was clean with a very large bathroom....the room was a bit outdated, however it was clean. The best part of this hotel is the breakfast....they had a huge selection of hot/cold food items. I would stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Many thanks for being our guest and for the kindness of your review. We certainly love to showcase our hospitality with newcomers, and we're so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed the comfort of our offerings. We'd love the chance to showcase our continued evolution with you, and we encourage you to reach out to the team the next time travels return you this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The bed was very comfortable! Our room looked out to the river. It was nice leaving the sliding door open during the night to hear the river rushing by. We didn't take advantage of the amenities (including breakfast). I would stay here again without a doubt. We travel frequently with our dog, so it is always great finding a place that will take her too.

Room Tip: I would pick a room on the first floor looking out to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We love our guests and their four-legged family members, and we're so glad to have made this a memorable experience for all of you. As you've noted, our river views lend an incomparable tranquility to a visit, and we hope to be able to share this and so much more with you in your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out again the next time you're in Bend; we'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 42 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 42 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#17 of 42 in Bend
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 42 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bend
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#11 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beautiful Deschutes River and located just minutes from downtown Bend and Mt. Bachelor, everything is at your fingertips while staying at The Riverhouse. Enjoy our indoor pool and spa or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. Walk to over 30 boutiques and specialty shops nearby. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service, or indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Crossings, our award winning steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.