We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Day Stay - Wonderful Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middleton, Idaho, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“10 Day Stay - Wonderful Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days while working and really enjoyed the location. The rooms are a little dated, but with how spacious and clean they are, that wasn't even an issue. Beds are comfortable and we really enjoyed having the kitchen setup. We had a few bumps at the beginning with the front desk staff, but after bringing the issues up to the assistant manager, everything was corrected and things ran smoothly from there on out...she was very gracious and we really appreciated her acknowledging our frustrations. The location is right on the river and we loved eating dinners on their patio. Breakfast is one of the bests we've ever had...made the stay that much better, being able to start the days off right with an awesome breakfast. I also enjoyed the walking trail just up from the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We're so glad to have welcomed you, and in spite of any initial miscommunications, we're happy that the team was able to make your experience an enjoyable and memorable one. We'd love to welcome you back soon, and we hope that you'll reach out with anything that might make your return visits more enjoyable. Many thanks for this visit, and we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    162
    59
    40
    25
See reviews for
121
183
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had warm and excellent service from all staff from front desk and housekeeping to restaurant and lounge. Everyone was obviously well trained with a mission of Customer Service. The property is lovely and especially delightful with a river view room-- the rushing waters will lull you to sleep at night. The convention center building is nicely done and our meals during a long convention weekend were really good.

Room Tip: A river view room is a great way to enjoy this lovely property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We're so glad to have been able to welcome you to our site, Cheryl, and we thank you for extending us such a thoughtful review of the experience. The team will love to hear this feedback from you, and we hope to welcome you back to even more of our signature hospitality the next time you're in Bend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent accommodations. Select an even 300 numbered room for a great view of the Deschutes River. Dinner in the restaurant is excellent. We had filet migon and kababs and they were delicious. Continental breakfasts were very tasty. Lots of choices and everything was fresh.

Room Tip: Room 302, 304 and 306 have great views of the Deschutes River and by leaving the sliding glass door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We're thrilled that you enjoyed the views, flavors, and signature hospitality of our Riverhouse Hotel, and we couldn't be happier to hear you share this review. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to even more of our signature offerings, and we hope that you'll reach out again the next time you're headed to Bend. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel courtesy of a convention (FWSA). The process started by making a reservation in early March with Kathy. She took great care in getting my reservation details correctly and promised me (they all do) a nice room close to the River etc.etc. Well wouldn't you know; after checking in, I actually got a great room, just as she has originally promised! (Thank you Kathy).
Check in was a bit slow, but nobodies fault, as a group checked out and I arrived early. (Besides a World Cup Soccer game (the opener) was going on so ... we watched that). Kylene with her Hawaiian smile (ear to ear) and her pleasant demeanor made the wait irrelevant. Great customer service from the front desk throughout my stay.
During the wait, Mark (F&B Director??) opened up the bar for me and turned on the World Cup soccer opening match. (Thank you Mark) Not only that, he also offered a drink and had Angelina bring a menu, in what definitely was not her 'section'. Great service with an awesome (Italian) smile from Angelina. The K9 (½ Pound Grilled Angus Beef Dog, roasted shallot, honey whole grain mustard sauce, toasted hoagie roll, shredded cabbage, tomato, dill pickle spear French fries) was delicious.
My room was extremely comfortable, well appointed, very clean and practical. By practical I mean; it is one of the 'FEW' hotel rooms where some $$ was spend (with no direct return on that investment to the hotel) to provide outstanding electrical power for both conventional plugs as well as USB. (I have enclosed a picture).
The only negative in an otherwise exceptional stay, was an order of Calamari Classico. While I know that calamari are difficult to consistently and properly prepare, my order was tender to the bite, was under-cooked and unfortunately did not meet expectations. (Sometimes it's best to leave a 'difficult' item off the menu, if the Executive Chef is not around 24/7/365).
To compensate, dinner in the steakhouse turned out as promoted. The Baked French Onion Soup did not disappoint and the Prime New York Strip was prepared diligently and to perfection. Our waiter Skyler (? 6/14/14 dinner) was extremely attentive and engaging. Overall a very fine dinner experience with a pleasant river view.

In summation; the Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center is certainly a very fine tuned operation and I suggest anyone comparing hotels in and around Bend, OR would be well served staying at this resort.

Room Tip: Building 100 lower floor, with beautiful and relaxing views of the Deschutes River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It's always such a pleasure to welcome newcomers to our hotel and to hear such accolades of the experience. Our dedicated team strives to make each stay a magical one, and for each of our guests to feel like family. We're so glad to have accomplished this for you, and we'll be certain to pass your kind words along to the whole team. We'll also note your dining experience to ensure the consistent experience we strive to achieve across all facets of the property. We'd love to host you again the next time you're in Bend, and we encourage you to reach out again for a return visit to rival this first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everything about this place was appealing! The service was fabulous (they upgraded us to a river-front room with a fireplace at no charge), sitting at the outdoor cafe on the river for dinner was just perfect, and our room was very good.... even though it was too warm to enjoy the fireplace! The continental breakfast was very bountiful and everything tasty -- although I would have liked a couple of healthier alternatives -- and started early enough (6:30) for us to get out and on our way down the road quickly.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the far side of the river, across from the outdoor cafe. The riverfront rooms on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you, Patty, and to hear that our site and services set the mark for your stay in Bend. We're so glad to have made for a memorable experience, and we hope to welcome you back to even more of the hospitality you've come to know of our team. Please be sure to reach out again the next time you're headed to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The king suite is very large and the view of the river made it even nicer. We were traveling with our two dogs and they were welcomed at no charge, which is why I chose this hotel.
The staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is very good.
I plan to always stay here when passing through Oregon. (Which is pretty often.)

Room Tip: I called the hotel directly and was offered a better room option than any of the travel websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We love our four-legged family members, and we're so glad to have welcomed you and yours to our Riverhouse Hotel. We take great care in affording only the finest accommodations to all our guests--the furry included--and we look forward to sharing many more visits with you in your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out again the next time you're passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a great hotel. The river-view room had outstanding views and was very comfortable. There is a little deck off of the room with a couple of chairs and a table if you choose. We thought the beds were great and we would have created a fire if it weren't a nice June evening. Our helpful check-in woman, Katrina, suggested we stay there for dinner and we are very thankful we listened to her. You don't need to go anywhere else in Bend to have a very nice day and night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to lend us such fantastic feedback of the experience. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay along the waterfront, and we hope to share many more memories with you in your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out to the team the next time you're headed our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#7 Business Hotel in Bend
#11 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beautiful Deschutes River and located just minutes from downtown Bend and Mt. Bachelor, everything is at your fingertips while staying at The Riverhouse. Enjoy our indoor pool and spa or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. Walk to over 30 boutiques and specialty shops nearby. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service, or indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Crossings, our award winning steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.