We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room at a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Save Saved
You added The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Bend
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great room at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here twice in August while passing through. Rooms were spacious, updated and clean. The pools were both great. Breakfast was fantastic and the deck was lovely. We will definitely stay here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Riverhouse Hotel and for taking the time to reach out and share your experience with us. We're happy to have afforded you with an inviting and memorable stay, and we hope that you'll continue to reach out as your travels take you through the area. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    126
    40
    30
    18
See reviews for
89
134
10
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times for work and I'm always pleased with the amenities and the location. The hotel is right next to their convention center and so it's very convenient. The Deschutes River flows right by the property and you can get rooms with a sliding glass door that opens to the river which is only about 30 yards from the rooms. Nice to listen to the river at night. Very comfortable beds and the furniture has been updated relatively recently even though the hotel is older.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi, we are happy to have had you as a return guest and we thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are happy you enjoy our many amenities and fantastic location. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

In August, 2013 we stayed at the Riverhouse for a week while visiting family in the area. Having a spacious room with a a deck viewing the Deschutes River was wonderful. It was useful having 2 vanities with sink and mirror, one enclosed with the shower area which my husband used and one outside the bath for me. The breakfast buffet was stocked with a lot of choice and you could sit either inside or outside on the deck overlooking the river. We ate there daily, and one evening we had a light dinner on the deck. For all dining, the food was excellent quality and service was quick. They have a coin-operated washer and dryer which I also found useful. My husband enjoyed a daily walk around the golf course behind the hotel. I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and will probably stay there again, as it was centrally located for sightseeing.

In the Bend area / Central Oregon, there are an incredible number of interesting and spectacular sites to explore, such as Crater Lake, Tumalo Falls, or the Newberry Caldera (runner-up to Crater Lake for National Park designation). The "Bend, Overall " book by Scott Cook (available on Amazon) provides detailed descriptions and photos of these, and is a must if you're planning to do any hiking or exploring in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share the well-appointed amenities of our scenic property. It's a pleasure to be able to share our spacious rooms with you, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the views and offerings of our Riverhouse Hotel. We'd love to afford you with a serene second stay, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the region. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have been coming to my other"Home" for over 3 years now,Was working out of town back then and found this upscale/cozy place-was in a kitchenette/fireplace suite overlooking the river for over 3 months!From the top floor-from housekeeping,maintenance,restaurant,front desk and management- service is always outstanding-this is not your High-rise hotel -Real world comforts are what you will find here,Sorry my friends it took me almost 4 years to write a "review"-Take care of my home in Bend
while I am away-see ya all soon -Ron Craft-Cochran Inc/OnPoint CCU

Room Tip: the sun is coming up over the front desk from behind in the morning(;
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out to share your experience with us, Ron. It's never too late to lend your voice, and we're happy to hear from you. We hope all is well, and we'd love to have you back to experience our continued evolution since your last stay. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're in Bend; we'd love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just stayed one night at the Riverhouse Hotel in Bend, OR. The location was so-so right off busy Business 97, but the room itself was very quiet. The room was also very clean and quite spacious. For a one night stay in a queen room the cost was $167/night (taxes included), which I thought was a good value for the hotel overall. There is a pool and hot tub onsite (which we didn't use), and a restaurant & lounge onsite as well. Breakfast was included in our stay, and was just average for hotel food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of the Riverhouse and for reaching out to share your experience with us. It's a pleasure to be able to introduce you to the value and natural beauty of our scenic property, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We'd love to host you again, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the region. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Was on a motorcycle trip. Exhausted at 8 pm. Stopped here by chance. Fantastic room on the river. Ate at the hotel restaurant . Fantastic. Some reviews state it is expensive which it is. But well worth the money. For the cheap traveler there is a fast food restaurant across the street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our property and for taking the time to reach out with your Riverhouse experience, Charles. It's a pleasure to have been able to afford you with a relaxing visit to the region, and we hope that you'll consider reaching out to us again the next time you're in the area. Thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I booked a room for the BMW motorcycle Curve Cowboy Reunion months before the event. I wanted a room with a river view but there were none left in the block of rooms; they put us down to give us a river view room if one was available. My husband arrived before I did and got a room without a river view. It was very large with a king sized bed, a large murphy bed (a bed that is hidden inside the wall, you just pull it down) and a sleeper sofa. It also had a kitchen and patio. The room was very nice but I wanted a river view. There are several different types of rooms. Our friends had a very nice, large room with a river view and a king size murphy bed, kitchen, balcony and a fireplace! I called the front desk and arranged to move to a river view room the following day. There were no more rooms like our friend's but we were able to get a room with a river view without the kitchen or fireplace...we were happy with it.

As another visitor reported, the bedding was very good, allowing for a restful sleep. The rooms were also very clean and the hotel staff was nice. We went by the front desk on a couple of occasions and received very helpful advice.

There is a nice pool with a hot tub and an additional hot tub on the other side of the river along with a small gym. The facility also contains a restaurant with outdoor dining and complimentary full breakfast each morning; you can even purchase mimosas or bloody Mary's for $5. The conference center is an easy walk across the street and has rustic décor along with floor inlay that represents the Deschutes River. Our group had dinners and seminars in the facility and it was great. There is a balcony and outdoor seating area in the back as well.

Now speaking of the Deschutes River...they don't call it Riverhouse for nothing! The best part of the facility is that it is situated on both sides of the river with a nice covered bridge connecting the two parts. The river is not very wide, and it runs swiftly along large rocks. Nice flora on both sides, there is even a small rustic cabin along one side. As mentioned earlier, the restaurant, The Crossings at Riverhouse, has a large patio right next to the rushing river where you can dine and listen to the rushing river. It is a little cool in the mornings so you may want to wear a jacket outside during breakfast.

I highly recommend getting a river view room. Balconies are included and you can sit out there and drink a glass of your favorite beverage and listen to the water.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river; it is worth slight upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Riverhouse Hotel and for reaching out with such kind words for us. While we're sorry that we were initially unable to provide you with your desired room, we're happy to hear that our outgoing team was able to find comparable accommodations for your second evening. As noted in your review, the views of our property are truly unrivaled, and it's a pleasure to have been able to to share them and our tranquility with you. We'd love to host you again soon, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return visits to the region. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bend
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bend
#5 Family Hotel in Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#6 Business Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beautiful Deschutes River and located just minutes from downtown Bend and Mt. Bachelor, everything is at your fingertips while staying at The Riverhouse. Enjoy our indoor pool and spa or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. Play 18-holes of championship golf at River’s Edge year round depending on the weather, or walk to over 30 boutiques and specialty shops nearby. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service, or indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Crossings, our award winning steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.