We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ski trip surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A ski trip surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Riverhouse Hotel! Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a small fireplace which added to the atmosphere as well as a view of the River - it was fun listening to the rush of the water right outside of the sliding door.
A suggestion - a comfortable chair or settee would have made the room perfect! Housekeeping was so very accommodating as to cleaning time - we travel with our two little doggie girls and like to have them out of the room for cleaning. Breakfast was a surprise! The manager of breakfast, Maire, was so helpful and pleasant. We had wonderful conversations. Her assistant Gina was a sweetie! Unlike other hotel breakfasts, Riverhouse provided variety as well as a wide choice of fresh fruits. Everyday was slightly different which my husband enjoyed! As we were on a ski holiday the location was convenient as the trip to Mt Bachelor took only about 30 minutes! The Riverhouse had a great ski deal for us 3 days of skiing for the price of two ski days. We look forward to our next trip to Bend and Mount Bachelor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    162
    59
    40
    25
See reviews for
121
183
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsport, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After living in Central Oregon for 35 years, retirement took us to the Oregon Coast. My husband was needing an evaluation for possible knee surgery, so we headed back the Bend. He is in a brace and in pain, so we called to see what was available for a handicap room at the Riverhouse. We chose the Riverhouse as an option because of the wonderful food we've had over the years, and room service availability. My first contact was Morgan at the front desk to make my reservation. Very pleasant, and a great representative for customer service. She spent all the time I needed to find just the right room for us with my husband's situation. When we arrived our accommodations were just perfect. We ordered room service several times, and Skyler, who delivered our food was another compliment to your customer service. Very pleasant, quick smile, positive, and fun to chat with.
To be able to have the breakfast buffet and use a to-go box to take back to the room was just the icing on the cake! Took all the stress out of this part of our trip. We will be returning to have knee surgery probably in March, and are definitely planning on staying with you!
Again, kudos to Morgan and Skyler for making this part of our trip stress free!!!

Room Tip: We needed a handicap room, so we were on the bottom floor across from the pool. Very quiet, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that we could make you comfortable during a stressful time. We can assure you our team will be recognized for their efforts in assisting you! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Riverhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were on a road trip from Boise, ID to the PCH in Crescent City, California, and we needed to spend a night in Bend. We don't usually plan ahead and as a result we have had some disappointments, but this was not one of them! It was a wonderful surprise! A gorgeous large log cabin style building, just beautiful, and very rustic. Our room had glass sliding doors that opened to the rushing of the Deschutes River. The rooms were across the river from the main building and there is a lovely covered bridge to walk across. On the opposite side of the river there was a very old cabin, partially preserved from an earlier time. It looked perfect sitting next to the river, and it took my imagination for a ride! Now, for the room, it was beautifully appointed, clean with a very comfy bed and bedding, lovely lighting, and a fabulous view. There were many area restaurants as it is along a business corridor, but we decided to dine in hotel restaurant that evening. We most often look for something different but because the hotel had such a nice ambiance we decided to dine in. Great decision, it was wonderful! The food was delicious, we each had a steak and found a very nice wine on the list then the cream brulee for dessert. Our table was very private, it may be because we were a bit on the late side, and it had a view of the river, right next to a roaring fire. We had chosen the more casual side of the dining areas instead of the more formal dining room. The waitress was lovely, friendly, helpful but not intrusive. I believe she was new, but she was certainly a professional. In the morning we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast buffet which was included in the room rate! A top notch meal, with everything you could ask for. If this hotel weren't so far from home we would love to go back again! So, if you are in the area put it at the top of your list!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are beyond pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like your luck met ours when you decided to pop in for a visit. We hope that you'll join us again soon, whether it is planned or not. We look forward to your return to the Riverhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our ski club stayed at The Riverhouse while we skied at Mt. Bachelor. Our room was overlooking the Deschutes River. The room was a nice size and clean. The people that that worked at the hotel could not do enough for you from the shuttle driver to the front desk. Every morning there was a breakfast buffet. Everyone wanted to make sure that our stay was a most enjoyable experience. Which it was.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Riverhouse. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to Bend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corvallis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful MLK weekend in Bend and had a wonderful stay. We had a different room this time and I absolutely loved it! It was even closer to the river! I would open my curtains in the morning and the rushing river was right outside my window!

We had a two room suite and it was very clean and accomadating. We had a family friend with us and she loved the beds. They were very comfortable. Even my 14 year old daughter who slept on the Murphy fold out of the wall bed said it was very comfy! Go figure!

Once again the complimentary breakfast buffet was incredible. Fresh fruit, eggs, meats, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, biscuits. Amazing!

Another wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for your loyalty. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we certainly look forward to your return to the Riverhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort is awesome! Rooms overlooking the Deschutes RIver. The rooms were very clean and when I asked for extra pillow from the staff, it was there in no time at all! The Crossings Restaurant has food that was the best I've had in Bend so far. Great Place!

Room Tip: Ask for river view near the walking bridge, not the highway bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Riverhouse Hotel & Convention Center. Our Crossing Restaurant is surely a treat, and we are pleased to hear how much you like it! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful view overlooking the pristine river. Great room. Comfiest hotel bed I can ever remember. And I had a cold and woke up once an hour! But still fell back asleep in the coziness.
The fireplace with logs was a nice touch and we enjoyed everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate the time you took to provide your feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Riverhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#7 Business Hotel in Bend
#11 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beautiful Deschutes River and located just minutes from downtown Bend and Mt. Bachelor, everything is at your fingertips while staying at The Riverhouse. Enjoy our indoor pool and spa or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. Walk to over 30 boutiques and specialty shops nearby. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service, or indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Crossings, our award winning steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.