We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ask Ski Season Specials
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Bend
South Surrey, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was a better than average hotel stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The pools and surrounding areas are immaculate with lots of clean pool towels readily available. The complementary cocktail was a really nice touch. The on-site restaurant is excellent (try the jumbo stuffed prawns - best ever!!). The breakfast is the best with an "everything" buffet including hot foods and very fresh fruit. Needed a cable to use the free internet - called the front desk and the cable arrived within 2 minutes. Staff very pleasant in all departments. Good job Riverside!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    154
    50
    39
    21
See reviews for
110
173
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is on a river with a decent restaurant, a pool, and a convention center across the street. A golf course is close by. However it is not a resort by my definition. The rooms and some public areas are tired though some remodeling has been done. It is still a good place to stay if you have a meeting at the convention center. There are many great restaurants nearby. This is about as good as it gets in Bend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your reflections on our hotel.

We are a traditional, family golf and river resort with so many activities here at the resort or on the adjacent trails or down the river trail in the shops.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of more than just the pools - the tennis, golf, river activities, fishing, hiking, and biking.

Yes, we do indeed have a conference facility but how we have sited we certainly do not want it t intrude on your leisure time. Please let me know if you feel that it did.

Yours,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed one night on August 6th and got an upgrade from a king river facing room to a suite. The room was comfortable/clean two story great river view from the top floor with a large deck. The room was large but could use more modern furnishings.

The resort itself is in a great location close to many food places and stores within walking distance. We got a welcome cocktail and a breakfast included in the price of our room. overall a little spendy but the staff was friendly and we will go back again.

They have a indoor and outdoor pool and a workout room and sauna..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. That the view over the river from your deck was valuable to you, we appreciate - as that is why we built the resort here.

Many thanks and we look forward to your return,

Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We've stayed at the Riverhouse a couple of times and always take the opportunity to stay again while vacationing in Oregon. The best value is to book well in advance and through one of the booking sites. While not new, this resort is a fixture in Bend and has been well maintained. Check in is quick and the staff are helpful and pleasant. At check in you receive a $4.50 coupon for a beverage on the patio overlooking the river.
The room price includes a full buffet breakfast, which is really good value.
The resort also has free wi fi and very nice pools and hot tub.
We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Bookk one of the rooms or mini suites fronting the river. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for all of your kind comments about all of free offerings.

We look forward to your return this summer.

Best,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here while our kids went to a concert. We had a Queen room with a fireplace and a Murphy bed. It would have been nice if there was a small couch but overall the room wasn't bad. The only issue I had is when the room below us used their fireplace, our room smelled of the smoke. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. We were upset when we went to the bar for our free drink. My husband ordered a drink he never had before and the barmaid asked what kind of vodka he wanted. He picked one, obviously not knowing what he was ordering and although I don't remember right now how much it was, it was very expensive! It would have been nice if she mentioned the cost to confirm that is what he wanted. This sort of thing, and when a waiter doesn't tell you that the gratuity is already included and allows you to pay it again (not that they did this here) are two things that make me not to revisit a place. The location was great. Close to lots of stores, restaurants and the amphitheater.

Room Tip: Avoid the fireplace room unless you are going to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and I will bring up your free drink service issue in our staff meeting this week. I will also check into the fireplace issue.

Thanks for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours, Rocky Adrianson,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlamathFalls, OR
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The rooms are spotless and beautifully appointed. Quiet.
There are several catagories of rooms, and you have to read the fine print carefully to see what you're getting.
1. Poolside. These rooms are right on the pool.
2. Pool view. You can see the pool, but have to look accross the parking lot to see it!
3. Riverside. These rooms command a premium, but I'm not sure they're worth the extra cose. Even though they're riverside, you are hard pressed to see the river! First floor looks out on the river bank, and second floor looks in to trees. Through the trees you can see the river.
My personal opinion: pool side are the best.

Room Tip: Please see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thanks for your detailed explanation of the positions of the various rooms we have.

You explain it well. I would suggest that for Riverside Rooms, you do indeed need to look down to where the river is below the balcony.

Thank you,
Rocky, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Riverview Rooms are best.
Don't count on the WiFi
Free breakfast riverside is the great.

Room Tip: Call for bookings, cheaper than online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your gracious comments about our free breakfast and the river side rooms.

WiFi is sometimes challenged, like in every hotel, when the youth are downloading songs, movies and playing games. When that happens, please call our help desk and they will be able to downgrade the heavy users service and allow more transfer to go to your connection.

Thanks,
Rocky Adrianson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3075 North US Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bend
#5 Business Hotel in Bend
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#7 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beautiful Deschutes River and located just minutes from downtown Bend and Mt. Bachelor, everything is at your fingertips while staying at The Riverhouse. Enjoy our indoor pool and spa or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. Play 18-holes of championship golf at River’s Edge year round depending on the weather, or walk to over 30 boutiques and specialty shops nearby. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service, or indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Crossings, our award winning steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.