We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness...Seriously Lacking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Bachelor Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Bachelor Village Resort to your Saves list
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19717 Mt. Bachelor Drive, Bend, OR 97702   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 Get 3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cleanliness...Seriously Lacking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I don’t need fancy, and can handle outdated, but I do need clean. Between the website pictures/description and the price, we thought we were choosing a nice place to stay in Bend. The only availability was for Ski House rooms. The first room we were put in was a 1 bedroom Ski House (rm #143). It was dim, outdated and rundown looking. The vacuum job was horrible; there were cheerios, crumbs, dust and fuzz on the floor. Then we discovered a white smear on the comforter near where our faces would be. I can’t handle dried bodily fluid from an unknown person, so we called the front desk and requested to be moved. The gentleman was apologetic and moved us to a 2 bedroom Ski House (rm #159) for no additional charge. The 2nd room was nicer with better lighting than the first. However, the cleanliness was still seriously lacking. Again, the floor wasn’t vacuumed well, there was a crumbled napkin next to the TV and a large piece of SOILED toilet paper on a plunger in the bathroom. It was plain to see as soon as you walked in! This was the first weekend getaway my husband and I were able to do without the kids or dog in 2 years, so I was in tears thinking our weekend would be ruined. There was no way I could have stayed in that room, so we headed into town and found a room at the Shilo Inn, and went back to Mount Bachelor Village Resort to check out and make sure we wouldn’t be charged. The only positive part of the experience was that the front desk rep was understanding and apologetic (my reason for a "poor" rating instead of "terrible"). This was the worst hotel experience we’ve ever had, and we didn’t even stay there! We have stayed in places half the cost and had cleaner and better maintained rooms than Mount Bachelor Village Resort. What could have been a pleasant start to our weekend, turned into over 2 hours of wasted time and a headache from not getting dinner until 9:30pm. We were told that there were new cleaners, and that the resort had already had a meeting about it. If this is true, they were aware that the rooms weren’t being cleaned properly. I hope for the sake of future guests, they take immediate action and make cleanliness a top priority!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at Mount Bachelor Village Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Although it's not pleasant to read, it is helpful to know when we don't meet our high standards of cleaniness. We take pride in our Resort to ensure that every guest has a memorable and fun experience. We fell short in delivering those high standards to you.

Paul Beatty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
29
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had a 2 room suite. The room was very spacious and the view was beautiful. My daughter was playing in a softball tournament so the in-room laundry was a great bonus. The room was a little outdated and stuffy but very clean. The only downside was the lack of restaurant and things to do on property. However, it is very close to the Mill District and downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We worked with Wendy Puller, the event coordinator, to book and block rooms for our son's wedding. Wendy was most accommodating and arranged for ridge units in close proximity to one another. The units had gorgeous views, spaceous and elegant accommodations and efficient housekeeping. When we needed extra chairs for a bridal shower, a gentleman from the resort promptly delivered a dozen chairs. We enjoyed the pool, the health club and the beautiful resort property which felt private and elegant while in reality a quick drive from all the wedding venues. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed two nights in the hotel style room. It was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Since it didn't have a kitchenette there was a small fridge but no microwave (which would have been nice) but overall we would definitely go back again. There is so much to do in the area and even around the grounds, biking, hiking, trails, river runs behind the property, pool, access to fitness center and restaurant right next to the resort. The people in the office were exceptionally friendly and helpful. "Downtown" Bend and "The Old Mill District" are very close with all kinds of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Although the signage is a little tricky to navigate, once we were settled in, we loved it! beautiful view overlooking the Deschutes River in a very nice area of Bend. Very convenient in the West end, near Broken Top and easy drive to Old Mill District and downtown Bend. We enjoyed a spacious room with nice amenities and all of the conveniences of home. Scanlons restaurant was closed for renovation and will be fabulous upon re-opening in a few weeks just in time for summer season. Great staff that was very friendly and accommodating for a few special requests that we made. I would recommend this lovely resort in Bend!

Room Tip: River Ridge Suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Excellent. Truly awesome place. We booked their sale package where we got a three day weekend with free lift tickets for all four of us for all three days. The check in was perfect and the room was incredible. I'm pretty hard to make gush over anything and our room was truly perfect and loaded. We paid a little extra for the river front rooms and ended up with a room with a full kitchen, a fireplace, a full entertainment system for watching movies, and a hot tub on the deck overlooking the Deschutes river. The room looked brand new, not the usual worn out feeling you get in most rental places.

I paid more for sticking my kids in ski lessons those three days than I did on this truly awesome room. I've stayed in Sunriver and now this place. I can't imagine a better place than this. Highly recommended. I'd pay a little extra and get the river front ones with the hot tub. I'm typing this while my kids have taken over the tub.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I booked our River Ridge Suite for a romantic getaway this past weekend. From the second we walked in to the office to check in, we were impressed. The young lady at the desk was helpful, polite and friendly; and even made sure to give us a call to make sure that everything looked great once we got to our room.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a fantastic view of the Deschutes River. The unit was tastefully appointed and it was very clean. The kitchen was well equipped with a complete line of stainless steel appliances and a full array of dishes and silverware - complete service for eight. In the living room, the fireplace added a warming touch and the LCD HDTV with a surround sound system was nice to watch the Final Four games. Outside on the private patio, a gas grill was available with a patio table, and a full-sized hot tub greeted us just outside the separate door to the master suite.

The master suite had an incredibly comfortable king sized bed with a private door to the patio and a door to the bathroom also. The bathroom had a washer and dryer which we didn't use, but could see where it would prove useful for an extended stay.

We couldn't find a single thing to complain about, and we didn't even have a chance to take advantage of visiting the on-site Athletic Club of Bend, which boasts major amenities. The service and cleanliness, combined with top notch amenities, appliances and furnishings made for a vacation that will be at the top of our list for places to visit again. Next time you're in Bend and are looking for an experience that will surpass all expectations, book a suite at Mount Bachelor Village Resort.

Also be sure to follow them on twitter @MtBResortBend for specials deals!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be quiet have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Bachelor Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Bachelor Village Resort

Address: 19717 Mt. Bachelor Drive, Bend, OR 97702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Bachelor Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Rentals and Overnight Accommodations, Resort Destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mount Bachelor Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Bachelor Village Hotel Bend
Mount Bachelor Village Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Bachelor Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.