We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi in a Comfortable Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanpai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kanpai
990 NW Newport Ave, Bend, OR
(541) 388-4636
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 367 Restaurants in Bend
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Vancouver,WA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in a Comfortable Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is our fourth time at Kanpai and we have yet to be disappointed . We had dinner Saturday night at Kanpai , again pleased by the great service and quality sushi served in this land-locked community.
The sushi served here is consistently the best in Bend and some of the best in the NW. The rice has the right balance of flavors and the fish is always fresh and well prepared. We tried the tofu pockets ( Aburage ) app . They were great. The various rolls and nigiri were also just as delicious and well prepared.
The setting is comfortable with a pleasant buzz in the air at this popular local restaurant.
Katherine was our server again, after 2 years, and still as good as we remember.
All in all , Kanpai again , rose above all the local sushi restaurant offerings that we've been to in a hands-down way.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great sushi but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I travel on business 180 days of the year. I eat sushi on both the east and west coast many days per year. This is as good as it gets. It always amazes me that in central Oregon we have this great sushi.
But be prepared it is very expensive. Happy hour will save you some money. But go early, it fills up fast. Service can be an issue.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Happy Hour is really good, the service can be quite hit or miss, but the sushi is always great

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, but for a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The sushi here is our favorite in town for the quality - you won't be disappointed. Unique rolls with some of the freshest tasting fish I've had in a long time. I'm pretty frugal though and find the prices a bit steep. But if you're looking for quality, this is for sure the place. Your best bet to balance price and quality is to go for happy hour where they have quite a good menu at greatly reduced prices.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the insane price tag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This place seems to draw both horrible and wonderful references around town, but mostly wonderful. They are usually busy, so make reservations, although you need six in your group to qualify for some reason. The staff is great and very helpful, and the food comes in a hurry. But the food itself will not wow you. It's good, but not as good as it should be for the price tag attached. I haven't eaten a ton of sushi, but most other restaurants have this one beat - at half the price. You may as well buy a plane ticket to Japan and go fishing instead.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Kanpai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanpai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.