We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi but very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanpai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kanpai
990 NW Newport Ave, Bend, OR
(541) 388-4636
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 378 Restaurants in Bend
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I travel on business 180 days of the year. I eat sushi on both the east and west coast many days per year. This is as good as it gets. It always amazes me that in central Oregon we have this great sushi.
But be prepared it is very expensive. Happy hour will save you some money. But go early, it fills up fast. Service can be an issue.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Happy Hour is really good, the service can be quite hit or miss, but the sushi is always great

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, but for a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The sushi here is our favorite in town for the quality - you won't be disappointed. Unique rolls with some of the freshest tasting fish I've had in a long time. I'm pretty frugal though and find the prices a bit steep. But if you're looking for quality, this is for sure the place. Your best bet to balance price and quality is to go for happy hour where they have quite a good menu at greatly reduced prices.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the insane price tag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This place seems to draw both horrible and wonderful references around town, but mostly wonderful. They are usually busy, so make reservations, although you need six in your group to qualify for some reason. The staff is great and very helpful, and the food comes in a hurry. But the food itself will not wow you. It's good, but not as good as it should be for the price tag attached. I haven't eaten a ton of sushi, but most other restaurants have this one beat - at half the price. You may as well buy a plane ticket to Japan and go fishing instead.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not terribly impressed, it didn't live up to it's reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

To begin with, this restaurant only accepts reservations if you have more than six people in your group. Thankfully, we only had to wait for a waitress to wipe our table down. The service, in my opinion, was less than stellar. The waitress was friendly, but seemed distracted. She failed to give us napkins or any sort of eating utensils. Plus, the place was really loud.

Additionally, the restaurant was out of a lot of foods. I could understand if it was rare or exotic types of seafood since, for sashimi, you would need exceptionally fresh fish. But, in addition to a number of types of fish, they were also out of beef, eggs and other completely common foods that are easy to find.

The food wasn't anything special. The sake, miso soup and calamari all seemed decent. The maki rolls were quite bland, the few ingredients included that might have added flavor (such as avocado) were added in very small quantities for the size of the roll. The sashimi combo platter was mediocre, it had some decent fish - such as red maguro - and then had some fish that you wouldn't normally expect on such a plate (such as anchovies – which, frankly, were nasty).

We had been excited to try this restaurant, as we heard that it had been voted best sushi in Bend thirteen times in seven years. After eating there, not only were we unimpressed but we agreed we definitely wouldn't go back. We've had far better sushi at a number of different restaurants throughout Oregon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Kanpai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanpai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.