We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarloaf Mt. Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugarloaf Mt. Motel to your Saves list
Sugarloaf Mt. Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   62980 North Hwy 97, Bend, OR 97701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here just one night. The front desk people were nice and friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable. Flat screen tv, in room coffee, fridge and microwave. Good shower. Standard continental breakfast fare. AC worked nicely. I slept great! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    21
    21
    13
See reviews for
35
36
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I saw the sign said $69 for the night with hot breakfast. With tax it was $76. I just needed a room for the night that was quiet and out of the heat of Bend in the summer. It met all those requirements. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment-no fresh fruit and dry bagels. However the front desk people were cordial.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Do not stay here!!! Room was not ready, when we checked in at around 7:00pm. Staff had to "check." We questioned if the room had been cleaned at all. Hair in bathtub, sheets rumpled as if they had been slept in, soap unwrapped and used prior to our arrival, then re wrapped. When we reported this to the front desk, we were told no one was available to help. Contemplated sleeping in the car. Went to front desk in the morning where basically told, "tough luck, the room has already been paid for..."
Did not stay for breakfast based on room condition.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently, while going to one of our timeshares, I made a HUGE mistake on our check-in dates and showed up a day early!!!....with 7 people...NOT GOOD! I was told about this place and I am so thankful! Not only was the price AMAZING but the facilities were clean, safe & quiet, the staff was friendly and efficient. This place completely saved our vacation budget and turned my "nightmare" into just a "bad dream".

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor towards the back of the property, across from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It took us 20 minutes to check in and the service was below average. When went to checkout and it took us 45 minutes! The staff had no idea what they were doing and everyone had been double charged for Saturday night. It wasn't until another employee started work that they were able to figure it out. The employees were rude, not helpful or apologetic. One of the other customers checking out said they had BED BUGS in their room. The service was horrible, the rooms were mediocre and we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good price, and clean room and good service.
Front desk found hotel's for drop in guest ,since they were full.
Smoking rooms are in separate buildings.extra bedding was brought fast with no problems.over all a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this site 3 years ago and were excited to relive a wonderful experience. Oops, Not! The desk staff were clueless. Not only did they have no information about local tourism, They put us in a room that reeked of possibly pet waste, not sure. Then they switched us to a handicapped room on the third floor that had cigarette burns all over the bedspread, along with other creepy features, and they had no idea it was a handicap room. The wide doors, railings on the tub, and special bathroom seemed a dead giveaway to us. Then they put us in a nice room, pretty clean, good bed, but the security lock was falling off a clearly battered door. The first day the room was not made up, despite the reminder sign we left on the door, and when we informed the desk they did nothing. Breakfast was a mess. They only infrequently restocked, never emptied the overflowing trash, and you could have played baseball with the HARD BOILED eggs. The towels were like sandpaper. The pool was nice, but the pool towels were even worse than the room towels. It can be a good location again, if management gets their act together.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarloaf Mt. Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Mt. Motel

Address: 62980 North Hwy 97, Bend, OR 97701
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugarloaf Mt. Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugarloaf Mt. Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Mt. Hotel Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarloaf Mt. Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.