We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zydeco Kitchen & Cocktails

Zydeco Kitchen & Cocktails
919 Nw Bond, Bend, OR 97701
(541) 312-2899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 367 Restaurants in Bend
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Missed the mark for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have had Zydeco on my list of Bend restaurants for a while now and finally had a chance to go for lunch. I had the soup of the day which was a spicey black bean. It was a great starter. My entree was the shrimp etouffee. Unfortunately, it lacked the depth of flavor that I really enjoy when this dish is properly made. Also, I will never understand why restaurants sometime serve the shrimp with the tail shell still attached. It totally ruins the joy of the meal for me. And, what is it suppose to add to the experience? The etouffe came with a slice of corn bread, which was nicely baked and still moist. I will give Zydeco another shot, but unfortunately, it's not high on my list at this time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    92
    43
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Slipping badly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We eat here frequently, and it is usually quite good. Last week they were marginal at best. First they sat us down and forgot us. Then I got a gin and tonic with cheap, sweet, and totally flat tonic. What waste of Bombay Saphire! By the time the waitress bothered by it was too late and we moved on to dinner.

The duck fat fries were perfect. Good thing because my wife's chopped steak salad was made with old rotten tomatoes, and my ribeye was not even close to rare---medium well by the standards of any good restaurant. They garnished this poor abused piece of meat with sweet potato fries, shrivelled on the outside and raw in the middle, sort of like they were cooked frozen.

No need to return here anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“One of the absolute best in Bend. . which has a lot of good food to begin with!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our second trip to Zydeco and it did not disappoint. Starting with the Roasted Beet Salad and then on to the blackened Redfish. . . delicious! My husband, who is super picky, also thoroughly enjoyed his dinner. We will be visiting Zydeco regularly!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Something different, something delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When you compare Zydeco to the other Bend restaurant options, it stands out. Sometimes that's good, sometimes it's not. In this case, it was outstanding.

We went on a Thursday night during primetime and didn't wait for a table. It was busy but not so busy that there was a wait.

As we sat down, we were presented with menus and drink options. We tried several cocktails but the Mojito was the real winner of the bunch.

After we received our drinks, we ordered the Artichoke and Corn Fritters which were delicious. Meanwhile another co-worker enjoyed a Roasted Beet Salad.

After a short wait, our entrees arrived. I ordered the rack of lamb which was delicious. My Co Workers ordered the Wild Game (Boar I think) and Shrimp which they both loved. My lamb was served with a roasted Brussels sprout which were a bit mushy for my tastes.

Once the meals were polished off, we sample some of the desserts. The creme brûlée was outstanding.

All and all, a great meal and a wonderful ending to our week in Bend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Creme brûlée to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I just ate here for our anniversary and it was great! We started out with the smoked trout dip and it was so yummy! Salads, roasted duck, and wild boar were spectacular! But my favorite part was dessert! The best creme brûlée i have ever had! I think we will go back for dessert tomorrow night! I did not give this the full 5 stars only because the atmosphere was a little crammed. We often had to squeeze against the wall to let people by. But other than that fabulous! Will def be back!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zydeco Kitchen & Cocktails also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Zydeco Kitchen & Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zydeco Kitchen & Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.