We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but not the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Motel

Dunes Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701-4235   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the best but not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I got this motel using Priceline. After reading the reviews on here I was pretty nervous but it wasn't all that bad. FIrst off the room was clean, there was no weird smell, and there was a nice big flat screen TV. I found the bed to be very comfortable. The downsides were that you can hear whenever your neighbor flushes the toilet or takes a shower. One of our neighbors showered around 3am and we all woke up. You can hear the traffic noise but I found that strangely soothing. They could use some blackout curtains because even when it is the middle of the night it looks like it's 9AM. We didn't eat the breakfast (I highly recommend Jake's Cafe) so I can't comment on that. We could never get the Wifi connected, not a big deal for us but could be bad if you were there on work. The weirdest thing was the shower. For ours you had to pull this tiny little knob out of the shower head to get it to work. We've never come across that before. For the price it was a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've stayed in a hundred hotels like this one, but I've seen few ever that were as clean, well-maintained, and well staffed as this one. Make no mistake, this is a no-frills motel. No pool, the breakfast is very minimal, etc. But for a place to stay, it's awfully good. I'm very glad to have encountered it and would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Go somewhere else. The room smelled foul. The floor was uneven, like there were holes under the carpet. On a very busy street. Walls paper thin. I should have left but was too tired to find another place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Priceline says 2 star.....Are you kidding me?? Noisy on the busy street old motel.Service was VERY ANGRY even in front of my Wife and Son when I complained about the rating! Had to use a plug in electric heater to keep from freezing! Bates Motel would have been a step up even with Normans bad habits. Left the next morning and was promised a refund for the second night that was paid for but not used. Neither Priceline or the owner will honor that! Priceline says breakfast however the owner says Continental breakfast which equaled almost nothing.They didn't even have real cream for coffee or milk for a child.This was one of the worst experiences of my life and I will not use Priceline ever again after many years of trusted deals. Unfortunately after speaking to them again, they weren't interested in our family nightmare experience, loss or lack of trust in them now. Too big for real customer care anymore I guess.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I chose this hotel because it's pet friendly, and offered a continental breakfast. I believe I paid about $37/night. I tried the continental breakfast once, it was a stale donut, batter bread (also stale) and instant oatmeal. I also brought food in and stored it in the convenient mini fridge and ate in using the microwave. The turntable on the microwave didn't work. Overall the customer service at the front desk was very good at check in. The room needs a real cleaning though, there is urine on the toilet and wall in the bathroom. There are smears of dirt on the wall and built up dirt in the bathroom. I definitely got what I paid for, a cheap, hotel room on a busy corner.

Room Tip: Unless you need a cheap hotel room, I'd avoid this one. Spend a little more and get a better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been staying at the Dunes off and on for 5 years on business. The Kumar's are continually improving the rooms and the building. In the dozens of towns that I travel I have yet to find a better motel in this price range. Clean, great beds, modern and up to date. I also use the Dunes when my wife and I travel for pleasure. Good comfortable clean rooms. New carpets, new beds, new furniture. It is an older building, so there may be some small issues with plumbing, but there's plenty of hot water. Don't count on some fancy hot breakfast, just a few pastries and coffee. This is a great place to rest your weary body, but not some sort of spa/resort. Just tell them Jim Brown sent you.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter, and better parking on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa, Andalucia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

very clean wonderful staff great price huge high definition tv wifi work great.the owners or staff were very helpful and veryopen to doing whatever they could to make my stay wonderful I stay there 5 days and had no complaints at all except bananas one day we're a little bit green.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Address: 1515 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701-4235
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.