We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what you'll find in this price range” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701-4235   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Better than what you'll find in this price range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've stayed in a hundred hotels like this one, but I've seen few ever that were as clean, well-maintained, and well staffed as this one. Make no mistake, this is a no-frills motel. No pool, the breakfast is very minimal, etc. But for a place to stay, it's awfully good. I'm very glad to have encountered it and would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
15
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Go somewhere else. The room smelled foul. The floor was uneven, like there were holes under the carpet. On a very busy street. Walls paper thin. I should have left but was too tired to find another place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Priceline says 2 star.....Are you kidding me?? Noisy on the busy street old motel.Service was VERY ANGRY even in front of my Wife and Son when I complained about the rating! Had to use a plug in electric heater to keep from freezing! Bates Motel would have been a step up even with Normans bad habits. Left the next morning and was promised a refund for the second night that was paid for but not used. Neither Priceline or the owner will honor that! Priceline says breakfast however the owner says Continental breakfast which equaled almost nothing.They didn't even have real cream for coffee or milk for a child.This was one of the worst experiences of my life and I will not use Priceline ever again after many years of trusted deals. Unfortunately after speaking to them again, they weren't interested in our family nightmare experience, loss or lack of trust in them now. Too big for real customer care anymore I guess.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I chose this hotel because it's pet friendly, and offered a continental breakfast. I believe I paid about $37/night. I tried the continental breakfast once, it was a stale donut, batter bread (also stale) and instant oatmeal. I also brought food in and stored it in the convenient mini fridge and ate in using the microwave. The turntable on the microwave didn't work. Overall the customer service at the front desk was very good at check in. The room needs a real cleaning though, there is urine on the toilet and wall in the bathroom. There are smears of dirt on the wall and built up dirt in the bathroom. I definitely got what I paid for, a cheap, hotel room on a busy corner.

Room Tip: Unless you need a cheap hotel room, I'd avoid this one. Spend a little more and get a better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been staying at the Dunes off and on for 5 years on business. The Kumar's are continually improving the rooms and the building. In the dozens of towns that I travel I have yet to find a better motel in this price range. Clean, great beds, modern and up to date. I also use the Dunes when my wife and I travel for pleasure. Good comfortable clean rooms. New carpets, new beds, new furniture. It is an older building, so there may be some small issues with plumbing, but there's plenty of hot water. Don't count on some fancy hot breakfast, just a few pastries and coffee. This is a great place to rest your weary body, but not some sort of spa/resort. Just tell them Jim Brown sent you.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter, and better parking on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

very clean wonderful staff great price huge high definition tv wifi work great.the owners or staff were very helpful and veryopen to doing whatever they could to make my stay wonderful I stay there 5 days and had no complaints at all except bananas one day we're a little bit green.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a very reasonably priced motel. There have obviously been efforts to update the decor fairly recently. The king bed was very comfy. My only gripe was that the bath/shower diverter didn't work properly so I was showering while my feet were in a couple of inches of water.

The continental breakfast, while not exciting, was perfectly adequate and included oatmeal, yoghurt, cereals and fresh fruit.

All-in-all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Bend
Days Inn Bend
#30 of 43 in Bend
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#12 of 43 in Bend
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#19 of 43 in Bend
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Bend
Econo Lodge Bend
#26 of 43 in Bend
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Address: 1515 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701-4235
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.