We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite hotel in Bend Oregon,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Old St. Francis School

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Save
You added McMenamins Old St. Francis School to your Saves list
700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Keizer, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel in Bend Oregon,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Now that the McMenamins Old St. Francis School is pet friendly, they will be getting more of our business.So will the businesses in the surrounding area. The rooms there are already great and now, not to need a puppy sitter, the hotel is now our go-to stay spot. With the food, beer, theater and shopping so close its a great place for us. We also were able to watch the Ducks beat USC and the Beavers beat Arizona State on a theater screen for an overall great weekend stay. We look forward to summer time when we can get out and enjoy the fire pits too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    62
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
120
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the reviews here, but remained sceptical - no need for that.
What a great place to stay!
The rooms are dark, but this perfectly fits to this building and concept. The whole building ist made over in a perfect way and everything harmonizes. The staff is friendly an helpful. A bar, a restaurant, a theatre, a turkish bath are on the grounds - use it!. There is so much to see, if you stay only one night, you won't have enough time (because you want to see something of bend too).
Reserve well ahead, because they are booked early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantastic hotel - history all around you and always something new to look at. We had a spotlessly clean, large room with an attached bath. Robes are provided. There is a soaking tub, an outdoor fireplace, a movie theater and often live entertainment. There are several wonderful restaurant/ bars to eat at-- all good fun.

Room Tip: Rooms with attached baths are great but even the ones with bath down the hall are good and shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great Great property in Bend . We have stayed almost every Mcmenamins hotel in the area . We loved the St Francis school, greta bar with super wood burning fire pits .

Its very small . you will need to book FAR AHEAD !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old St. Francis School. Our room was large and had everything we needed - comfortable bed, real cups for coffee, glasses, robes, bath products, ceiling fan, very nice new bathroom, great wireless, information about the other parts of the hotel, etc. Everything was spotless. Front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. The whole place has a good vibe. The soaking pool is a very nice place to spend part of the day, and we also visited the outdoor whiskey bar for a drink - what a great idea. My only regret is that we only stayed one night - the hotel offers so many varied services (restaurants, bars, movies, music), that it would have been preferable to have more time to sample them, to say nothing of Bend itself, which has a great little downtown, excellent pubs, a beautiful park and probably lots of other lovely options to explore. Next time!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. A lot of small quality touches i. e.premium coffee packet delivered to room in the morning, bartender was very warm and fun to talk to, bathrobes supplied for soaking tub. The grounds are flower filled and there are many places to sit in the gardens and relax. Can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place was right up my alley (we didn't stay here, we just went to the bar). It's literally the coolest bar I've ever seen. They had many huge fire pits going outside, and the little bar in the back was like stepping into another time. In the front building they had this side hallway that lead to a beautiful (and creepy) Turkish bath. The place is rumored to be haunted and I wouldn't be surprised if some cool ghost stories came out of there. I can't even explain how awesome this place is. You just have to see it yourself.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97701
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#4 Family Hotel in Bend
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Old St. Francis School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.