We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality on the Decline” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenglow Cafe - CLOSED

Alpenglow Cafe
1133 NW Wall St. #100, Bend, OR 97701-2002
(541) 383-7676
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: OUR FRESHNESS PLEDGE We do not use any canned products. $1000 reward if you can find a can opener in the café – no fair bringing in your own! All of our pancake and waffle batters are made daily. We serve Pure, Grade A Vermont Maple Syrup, shipped directly from Arctic Acres in Greensboro, Vermont. We serve only fresh foods. Our bacon, pork and chicken are local from Deschutes County. We smoke our chicken and fresh salmon at the Cafe. Orange juice is fresh squeezed, we also offer organic apple and tomato juice. We serve locally roasted Strictly Organic coffee and latte beverages. All of our beverage syrups and Chai is locally made. Our entire dairy is from Eberhards. Bread/muffins/cinnamon rolls and coffee cake are made daily. We make all of our dressing’s & burger buns for our salads and sandwiches. Daily soup made from scratch.
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality on the Decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite places. Now, not so much. Yes, their eggs Benedict are still good, but other places, like Victorian Cafe, are far better. There's no ambiance, and the food, while good, is not great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“Worst Breakfast I've ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I didn't know eggs benedicts were made with hard boiled eggs? Pair that with crumbly, dry biscuits and tasteless hollandaise and you're left feeling like you exfoliated your esophagus. This had to be the most WORST breakfast I've ever had. To top it all off the water-downed coffee was $2.95?! I thought that my husband's pancakes would be better, but that was just as terrible because they weren't even cooked-through. I don't know about you, but slurpin' down pancake batter is just not high on my list of favorite breakfast foods.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My breakfast this morning was terrible, I'm sorry. The spinach, mushroom and swiss omelet was as dry as it could possibly be. And, he forgot the spinach! There was one other table occupied at 7:30 AM and the cook couldn't produce a decent plate of food. Potatoes, dry and looked like yesterday's, the omelet was over cooked, flat not "stuffed" as the menu states and slightly gray in color. What happened guys? How hard is it to cook breakfast? Pay attention, have some integrity in your work, geez...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Most overated breakfast in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We used to hear how great this place was for breakfast . . . it is really average for the price. The last time we went in the service was barely adequate, and the food just OK. There are at least 5 other places in town that have better breakfast . . .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“the high cost of being a Locavore?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Alpenglow Cafe promotes itself as having well prepared , totally fresh, and local food. The meat is never frozen and locally sourced, they use no canned food what-so-ever, the buns and bread are made locally daily, the maple syrup is real, soup is home made soup daily, etc.

The inside of Alpenglow Cafe looks like any number of diners that can be found across America and so can the food. But at some point, you have to ask yourself is a plain waffle or plain pancakes really worth more than $10? Add eggs and meat and you're over $14. . Okay, the brewed coffee was great. But in the second decade of the 21st century, findng eggs benedict on your breakfast menu is no longer something special. In my humble opinion, the food at Alpenglow is solid but not extraordinary

Expect to pay about $20 per person for a breakfast entree, a cup of coffee, and the tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenglow Cafe also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenglow Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.