We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order the lobster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roszaks Fish House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roszaks Fish House
1230 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701-4331
541-382-3173
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 362 restaurants in Bend
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Bend, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't order the lobster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had dinner there last night (Friday nite), and the place was empty. I wondered why and attributed it to the goings-on downtown. I ordered lobster with the two sides being salad and sweet potato fries. Husband ordered oysters with baked potato and chowder. Sister ordered the Shrimp Fest. My lobster was watery,leaving a puddle under it, and not broiled, just boiled. The portion was about 4 small bites, if that, and I'm not exaggerating. It was mushy and tasteless. The drawn "butter" was almost cold, the sweet potato fries were cold and tasteless, with absolutely no seasoning. The dipping sauce for the sweet potatoes was inedible. I took one bite and almost gagged. Waitress acted offended when I told her I couldn't eat it. I thought it was spoiled. She said it was the "signature recipe," a cajun recipe that they have used for years. She even brought the recipe out and read off the ingredients, which included tarragon, rosemary, etc. Whatever it was, it was not good. I also ordered a shrimp plate from the appetizer menu, for $9.00, which was actually a better meal than the lobster. The salad was boring, as was the dressing. I ate a small portion of salad, but it was basically lettuce and a mound of grated carrots, My husband liked his oysters and baked potato, and my sister said her shrimp fest was "okay," but that she thought the sauce for the sweet potatoes was spoiled, and that a few of her grilled shrimp had the same flavor as the dipping sauce. No atmosphere, and we were the only people in the restaurant, on a Friday night. There were several people in the bar, which I noticed as I left the restaurant. The bread was good, the service was fast, and the waitress was nice, but seemed to be shocked when I didn't like the dipping sauce. The lobster was $25.95, for 3 or 4 bites...Unbelievable! Mostly shellfish on the menu, but no selection of fish like I assumed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    2
    2
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dependably Delicious Foor and Attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

They offer regular coupons for their prime rib dinners every weekend which are reliablely tender and generous. There is a cozy happy hour with small-meal dishes, as well as drinks. Even their lunches are affordable and elegant. Finally. it is never noisy and/or crowded.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Taking our Special Ladies for Mother'sDay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This restaurant is set back from many restaurants in Bend, either downtown or right on third street. It is set back, and is situated inEighties conrete Office building dominated by State Offices. So eatingthere was a surprise, the fact that it ewasopenfor Mother's Day was nice, we made reservations. The sea food was great my wife had the Lobster, I had thesteak, some of us had the Onion soup, others the soup chicken pot pie, altogether great food , great service.
I am not a big tipper, for many reasons, buit the staff took our orders , and the cooks served up all our food together. A real treat IMHO!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Walking distance from the Red Lion and other hotels.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We want to be able to walk to a restaurant from the Red Lion and this place was the only place that looked more upscale than a typical pizza or pub type place. The wine was good, the bread was fresh, I ordered a shrimp linguine which was loaded with shrimp. I'd say it's a good value and okay atmosphere. Service wasn't very professioal the night I was there anyway.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Because we were a large party, we made a reservation. The kitchen should have been prepared, clearly they were not. Literally 1/2 of us received our meal in a timely manner; the other 1/2 waited more than 10 minutes when they thought to bring out bread. Their meals trickled in, with the last person receiving her meal, cold, about 20 min. later. There were only 4 other patrons in the dining room.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roszaks Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Roszaks Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roszaks Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.