We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off our regular list” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Grath's Public Fish House

Mc Grath's Public Fish House
3118 N Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701
(541) 388-4555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 320 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Off our regular list”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The last time we went here, a couple of years ago, we were impressed, this time, not. It wasn't because of the crowd waiting to be seated ~ 7 p.m., some customers from the hotel across the highway (97-business), it was amazing how empty it was when we left at after 9 p.m., when it was dark.

Yes, the service was slow. Very slow. It was so slow that we changed out mind and opted not to order dessert. Meanwhile, the seafood just wasn't that good. I had the mid-priced entry for a seafood platter, the one that includes crab legs, the rest of the food fried (as I knew it was from the description), but tasting no better than what you can get out of the frozen foods section at your local supermarket. The crab legs were also nothing special, but our server was nowhere to be found, so I asked some guy who was hustling about for more butter, which he cheerfully got (and was surprised at my hesitancy of asking him).

With the food average and the service poor, we'll try someplace new the next time we're in the Bend area - or in areas where McGrath's is operating. Adjacent to this one is a Shari's that we had been to over a decade ago, and that would be a better option here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Maybe not Trendy but Very Good Seafood with Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

McGrath's is a chain; it is not chic or trendy; and it has dark wood booths coupled with a dark carpet ... maybe a little dated looking. But it has a listing of what seafood is fresh, very good food, reasonable prices, and a selection of wonderful local microbrews and decent choices for wine. It easily scored a very good when our family went there recently for dinner. The details. Dinners include fresh sourdough bread, a salad, sauteed veggies and choice of some type of starch. The bread was very good, the salad was pedestrian but decent, and french fries and baked potatoes were good. My wife's crab stuffed sole was excellent, my daughter's salmon was also excellent, and my wood-fired rainbow trout was delicious. The crab and salmon both had a lobster cream sauce that contributed to their excellent ratings. Prices were typically in the mid-teens, not too bad for full dinners made with fresh seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We ate here when staying at the Shilo Inn opposite. Basic decor but the service was good, the seafood was excellent and the cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service, Worn Venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stop at Mc Grath's was on a weekend night while staying in Bend. We were promptly greeted and seated. While waiting for the appetizer we looked around and noticed the restaurant is definitely showing its age and use. Ceiling tiles were missing in the dining area, seating fabrics that were obviously worn and dingy looking, carpet showing a definitely worn and dingy wear pattern as well.

Our server, Angelica, was very nice and knew the menu. Her recommendations were good. The grilled Oysters were tasty and fresh as was the salmon.

There was one member of the staff who was very annoying. He was overly gushy with patrons in an insincere and almost condescending manner. He also went about dusting and oiling the woodwork around patrons who were still eating. Granted it was later in the evening but this type of work should wait until the area is cleared out.

Overall McGrath's in Bend wasn't up to what we've experienced from their other locations. It was more mediocre than exceptional which has been our previous experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, great waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were visiting in Bend with some friends and they wanted to go here. They had been once before and had a great waiter: Bill. We were fortunate to get him again. What a personality and so very efficient! Food was good, Bill was on time and on budget with everything, and we had a great time. I would certainly recommend this restaurant and would go here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Grath's Public Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mc Grath's Public Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Grath's Public Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.