We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility and very good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Worthy Brewing Co.

Worthy Brewing Co.
495 NE Bellevue Dr, Bend, OR 97701
+1 541-639-4776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 321 Restaurants in Bend
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Pizza, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Worthy Brewing Company delivers remarkably balanced, filtered ales that are hand-crafted using all natural, premium ingredients and the pure mountain water from the Cascade Range in Bend, Oregon. The onsite restaurant specializes in wood-fired elemental pizzas, huge sandwiches, fresh salads and delicious platters including halibut tacos, all paired with the perfect Worthy beer to match. Their flagship beers include 12 oz cans of: Worthy IPA, Worthy Pale Ale, Easy Day Kolsch, and Lights Out Stout. Their bottling line also cranks out 12 ounce six packs of Worthy IPA and 22 ounce bottles of Worthy IPA, Worthy Imperial IPA and Eruption Imperial Red Ale, along with limited releases of seasonal beers. Worthy's pilot system puts out small batches of kegs for the Heart and Soul Series, their way of experimenting with beer and hops.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice facility and very good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Worthy is in a nice new facility with a big patio and nice atmosphere. We sat on a big picnic table inside and were very comfortable (oddly for Bend it was actually raining outside or we would have been on the patio). The new facility is very nice. Menu was good, with an effort to use local produce. I tried a pizza with wild mushrooms and it was quite good - crisp crust and the flavor of the mushrooms was quite good. There beer was very good as well. I have brewed beer for 25 years myself. We tried a flight so we could sample 6 different things. We tried a wheat, saison and a number of pale ales and IPAs (our prefence). All nice, well balanced and true to style. We shared a Porter for desert and it was very nice as well. We tried many other breweries in Bend, and Worthy was in the mix with the rest in terms of quality. Not the very best, but quite good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    46
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yakima
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go for the beer...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm a pretty accomplished drinker, if I may so myself, and I'd like to think that I know a thing or two about beer. My friend and I stopped in to Worthy Brewing because it was new to us, and close to our hotel. We left with a mixed review of the place.

It's a beautiful place-- huge outdoor seating area with fire pit, picnic tables, and umbrellas. The indoor seating area was cavernous (loud!) and mostly picnic-table style seating that felt cramped.

The service we had was adequate. She wasn't overly knowledgeable of the beer, and didn't talk up any particular dish, although she told us about the special which was a ham and cheese pizza.

We chose a pear and gorgonzola pizza. The crust was good, but the pears seemed unripe and had little flavor, and the cheese, from Rogue Creamery, was underwhelming to our palates. It wasn't bad, just meh.

We tried four beers-- the helles Bock, which was decent, the IPA, which was only average, the Porter, which was undrinkable, and the Saison, which wasn't even close the Saison style.

There are much better places in Bend to drink and eat. I would choose some place that has more substance than the style at Worthy Brewing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were going to grab a bite to eat, they seated us across from the bar and it was hard to have a conversation across the table. Food was great. Next time I would request a table further from the bar

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good Place for a meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

While in Bend recently, we stopped in at Worthy Brewing Co. for dinner. There is plenty of parking, with a large outside seating area or inside as well. We arrived for a late dinner, and we were seated quickly. We chose to sit inside, and were given a menu with many choices! Our server helped us with deciding which brew to try first. The samples were helpful along with the server's comments.

Our meals arrived in good time, and were very good. It was a busy night, which could explain why it was hard to get our server's attention at times. But, it was a very good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've been to Worthy Brewing Company in Bend twice. Both times our experience could be summed up in one word: okay. Not great, not bad, but just okay.

On the good side: They have a large selection of interesting beers, and some of their beers are very good. The new structure is amazing. It's large with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. Our service was good, too.

On the down side: no happy hour menu or prices. The food we ordered (sweet potato fries, homemade pretzel with cheese sauce on the side, pizza) were really just mediocre. Nothing special. One person in our group ordered wine and it was slightly expensive.

With so much competition in Bend from all of the other breweries, it seems like they need to crank it up a notch to make this place slightly more competitive. The novelty of a large, new place on the East side of town will wear off eventually, and what keeps people coming back are great beers, great service, great food, and great prices. The need to work on the last two.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worthy Brewing Co. also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Worthy Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worthy Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.