We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brewery and Fantastic Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crux Fermentation Project

Crux Fermentation Project
50 SW Division ST, Bend, OR 97702
541-385-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 367 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Brewery and Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had heard of Crux Brewery from a friend in Bend but had no idea this brewery was so new. We arrived shortly after 11am on a Tuesday and very quickly the locals started to stream into the brewery. Wow, what an assortment of beers. For a brewery that's been in operation for only two years, we could not believe the more than 15 beers available to tickle our tastebuds.

And the brewery is a showplace. Located in what looks to be an industrial district, it is immaculate inside and the staff is incredibly friendly. The food absolutely blew us away. It was incredibly tastey. So don't miss this young brewery that has already made a name for itself in just two short years.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Brewpub in Bend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Bend is known for it's beer culture and the competition is fierce. This stems in part from the well-known Deschutes brewery, where no doubt many of the young brewers of Bend apprenticed. Hard to explain the 15 breweries in a town of 80,000 however, except that people love their beer.
Crux is a bit away from all the tourists downtown, out next to the highway in an industrial area. When they roll up the gate on the warehouse, a modern gleaming brewery is revealed with industrial elements serving as restaurant furnishings. The view out the gate is the snow-covered Cascadian peaks which loom to the west. The beer here ranges from stouts to saisons to barrel-aged Belgians to very hoppy IPAs. The food is atypical of pubs, consisting in a range of fresh salads, sandwiches, and wraps. The service staff was excellent, knew the beers, and was quick given the flood of patrons that jam the place starting at the opening bell. Seriously, if you want a beer at a brewery in Bend on a summer weekend, be there when the place opens. This especially holds true for Crux, where locals go and tourists are welcomed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfiled
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crux of Matter=Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

What a Great Find! Beer & Bend go of ether like love & marriage. The Drunken Mushroom clearly had to hitch ride home, The Pork Belly really sat up & the Chicken/Bacon sandwich was perfect! Our meal was so good we needed a smoke & a room after!
Highly Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good beer! Food usual bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great place off beaten path. Can walk to from HGI. Kid friendly if you eat. Food not why I would come back. Beer great and friendly staff all around!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beer OK. Food...not so much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Drank plenty of beer during our trip to Bend and was told this would be one of our better experiences. Unfortunately it was not. Sampled 6 beers, none of which would top my list of the best beers we had in Bend. Place was packed and the lack of organized seating was a bit chaotic. Service was very good (as was everywhere we visited in Bend) but the food was an issue. Really the only meal we had during our trip that I would take issue with. My son who was "starving" barely ate his Buffalo Chicken Wrap. My wife and I shared some other chicken sandwich and she didn't finish her half. Luckily the view is beautiful and there was plenty of dogs around to keep us entertained.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crux Fermentation Project also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Crux Fermentation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crux Fermentation Project, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.