We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Resort, 2 Star Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort
65600 Pronghorn Club Drive, Bend, OR 97701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 hotels in Bend
Pacific NW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“5 Star Resort, 2 Star Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The resort boasts 2 excellent golf courses, but in fact you can only play one, as the Fazio is very private. The golf resort was beautiful, the course design and condition first rate. The clubhouse, hotel rooms, and scenery are all worthy of a 5 star resort.

Too bad the staff are a 2 star only.

The first day we played golf and the round took 5 1/2 hours and we finished in the dark. The staff when we finished didn't care to clean our clubs or help us unload our clubs, they just wanted to get out carts back and go home. Our caddy Victor was very poor. He claimed to be a professional golfer, yet his unshaven appearance, chatting while we hit, rude comments about our shots, and lack of any ability to read the greens made me realize he was full of it. He never even once cleaned my clubs. Needless to say he didn't get tipped well.

We went next to the restaurant, we had a group of 12. We asked for seating and they didn't have room for us. No offer to move tables, set up anything, We started out at three tables, then when another group left we moved so we could sit together. The waitress and bartender made no effort to serve us. After 1 hour, half our group said enough poor service and left. Six of us were hungry and asked if we could order. The waitress finally gave us a menu, it was very limited and very overpriced. Then we waited another 30 minutes before they finally served us. We felt like they cared little about our dining experience and when we got the check we noticed they added a 20% tip the bill. I guess they figure they will automatically bill you 20%, then they can treat you bad and still get paid.

The front desk staff is one person, she was very friendly and helpful. Job well done. My room was beautiful, the bed very soft and everything I could want was in the room. The problem was that the adjoining unit and my unit had zero insulation and I could hear every word they said, feel every step they took up the stairs, hear every dish they rattled. Amazing a place so nice can be built to cheaply.

Overall come for the golf, stay and dine elsewhere if you can.

Room Tip: Don'y choose a lock-off King Suite as the unit it is shared with is a two or three bedroom besid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Pronghorn is a lovely resort, but quite far away from anything else - grocery store and bank are at least 20 minutes away, so if you go there, plan to spend most of your time at the resort. If you like golf you will be very happy with both golf courses which are quite different from each other. the hotel restaurants are excellent - breakfast at the Trailside grill was hearty, healthy and delicious and dinner at the main restaurant Chanterelle was excellent. The room itself a "suite" was somewhat small and actually had only one chair, so the second person must sit on the bed to read or work on a computer - they really need to address this problem.... The amenities were all excellent as one would expect of an Augerge resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This facility is way out in the boondocks, but if you're a golfer and like a great resort experience this is a gem. The two golf courses are superior. Nicklaus course is accessible through the resort; Fazio is private but can be accessed with connections. Both are terrific courses, Fazio more attractive of the two, with lots of fescue fringed bunkers and vistas. Nicklaus course is what you'd expect; hard but playable. We loved both of them, even though temperatures were in the low fifties in early October. WE rented a four bedroom townhouse on the grounds. Very nice facility. Restaurant was limited in shoulder season and marginally acceptable. Very expensive experience, but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We picked this location for convenience to Pronghorn Golf and the Auberge name. We have stayed in a number of their other properties and have always been pleased. The golf was fine. Very nice course in great condition. The Golf package with the room made it even better. The accommodations were not to Auberge standards. This is not a hotel. It's a residence club with the lock-off's being rented out. Normally that would be a good thing. Here it's a challenge. There is no room service. To get a good cup of coffee in the morning you'll need to walk to the restaurant facility. We had a one bedroom suite which is actually the smaller side of a 3 bedroom residence. Think of a large hotel room. If we stayed here again, it would be in a two bedroom just to get the larger space. We also have two small dogs and were placed in their dog building. Again, this is not necessarily a bad thing in a high end hotel/resort. At this location, there are backyards/patios. The problem is they are not separated between the lock-offs. If you or your neighbor has a pet, they can easily walk over in front of your sliding back door. Also, reading some of the other reviews that complained about noise from adjoining space, it's because there is a door that separates the lock-off. The main living area of each unit is on the other side of the door. Noise can't be helped. The units are very nice just not suited well for hotel accommodations. Not even paper and a pencil in the room. Which I didn't notice until I went to write down my tee time. Housekeeping could definitely get some lessons on cleaning. There was a layer of dust on the end tables and I hope you don't have to reach under the bed for something. The small back yard had 3 piles of dog waste that hadn't been picked up when we got there. Enough with the bad, I think you get the picture. The service at the rest of the resort was excellent. Couldn't do enough for you. The food at each of their three locations was also excellent. The balance of the amenities at the resort were also very nice. If you're coming here for golf, I would suggest you stay in town (which is about 30 minutes away) or opt for the entire lock-off residence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pronghorn is first class in every way, great 2 bedroom suite overlooking the 18th green, excellent food at their dining facilities and very accommodating staff. Two issues to mention...... The directions to the resort provided by the person we booked with were erroneous so we ended up driving around in the desert for an extra hour, this should be corrected (all staff apologized profusely).
The other issue.... We were woken up at 1:30 am by loud mouthed individuals who were next door to us, I felt this was unacceptable for a resort of this quality. Again everyone apologized profusely and they instructed the offending individuals to be quieter the next night. I felt that the manager could have gone further than just apologize......a comp bottle of wine with our dinner or some gesture would have gone a lot further to recognizing the inconveniences we endured.
The golf course was first class however the caddie was relatively inexperienced and largely unnecessary.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here in June during some rainy weather. The club house is gorgeous and the rooms were comfortable. My partner said both golf courses were the best he has played. One of the courses is private but some friendly members invited him to join them.

The food in the Trailhead restaurant and the more casual bar setting was great, especially the truffle and cheese popcorn. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

The pool and spa area is breathtaking and I would recommend asking for rooms in this area. Our room was in one of the buildings furthest away and the view from the side was of the employee parking lot.

The internet in the rooms was spotty, slow, and unreliable. The soundproofness of the rooms is also not what you would expect given the high quality of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon, usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

2 families with total 5 children stayed New Years Day for the week!!!! The weather for skiing couldnt have been any better!!!

The accommodations are 5 star with all the amenities you need. The kitchen is complete for a chef with All Clad pans and great knives. The rooms are very spacious each with their own full bath. Laundry in the town house.BBQ on the terrace with a fire pit full with wood. Super comfy beds. The master suite is enormous with a walk in closet private balcony and a bathroom the size of most bedrooms. There is also a garage.

We got lucky with our 4 bedroom townhouse to be directly across from the pool and hot tubs. The pool is not open but the hot tub is giant and there is a seperate one for adults. A fantastic bonus is they have a free shuttle from the pronghorn clubhouse at 7:45am to the perfect drop off spot at Bachelor, the return trip picks you up at 4pm and they keep your skiis locked up overnight. It is about a 45 min ride. Love that option. There is also coffee and mini muffins in the clubhouse for the ride.

We ate in the restaurant and I am sorry to say I was not impressed. I am a foodie so that was probably it. Had the beet salad that had imitation crab on it which was nasty. The crab cakes were small and bland, I didn't care for the seaweed salad under fhe cakes.I chose to cook the rest of the time. They do have a delicious truffle and asiago popcorn!!!!!

I have also stayed here in the summer, golfing, tennis and the pools are a perfect family trip with day excursions to rafting and the lava caves

If you drive through sisters take the left to prineville, its shorter than going through Bend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort

Address: 65600 Pronghorn Club Drive, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pronghorn Club and Resort is a unique collection of one bedroom suite and 2 to 5 bedroom luxury residences, located on the 18th hole of the Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course in central Oregon. Amenities include: Luxury accommodations overlooking the golf course, full service spa, 3 locally renowned restaurants, 2 exclusive pools18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course, trailhead recreation center with tennis courts, stunning locations for weddings and events from intimate rooms with Cascade Mountain views to our 500-person event lawn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pronghorn, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.