We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun visit with the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lands Visitor Center

Lava Lands Visitor Center
U.S. Hwy. 97, Bend, OR
541-593-2421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 71 things to do in Bend
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The interpretive hub for the Newberry National Volcanic Monument.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun visit with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent this last week with my wife and kids revisiting a number of great geologic sites that I visited as a kid. This one didn't disappoint. Great combination of adventure for the kids, getting out into nature, and learning a lot of great science and natural history. I'm sure we will be back again someday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    45
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and nice exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice exhibits... we spent about 30 minutes in here but could've spent longer if my younger child would've wanted to read each and every sign. Some hands-on exhibits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lava Everywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Explore the Lava of Central Oregon now, before the crowds come for summer, now is the time to see this young flow of Ah Ah lava in all its spring beauty! The wildflowers are just getting ready to spring forth in the next few weeks, the weather is just starting to warm and the winter storms are softening a bit. Great sunset views from Lava Butte can be had, as the days lengthen and the clouds break up in the evening for great views!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great views, great rangers, great nature talks, great place to visit, great paths to wonder. Did I mention I thought this was a great place to visit?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Hiking, views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We took our grandaughter. She was learning to use a camera. We try to take this drive at least once a year. It's so near Hwy 97, it's easy access.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lands Visitor Center also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Lava Lands Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lands Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.