We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stop in the Middle of No Where” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Bend

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Bend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RedLion.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bend
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Sale - 20% Off!
Ranked #7 of 42 hotels in Bend
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Stop in the Middle of No Where”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really enjoed our stay at the Red Lion in Bend. After driving for 6 hours and looking forward to better accomodations we were glad to get to this hotel. Service was great, checking was fast and friendly, rooms were large, bright, and clean. I especially liked the mints on the pillows. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
50
59
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped here on our way home from a road trip, and it was one of the lesser expensive hotels close to Sisters, Oregon. This is NOT of the quality of Red Lions that we are accustomed to on the west coast of Washington (Seattle, Bellevue). It is set up more like a motel with outside door access. We didn't have the breakfast in the morning.

The one thing that disappointed us was that they did not do AAA discounts. What hotel these days does not honor AAA? We did, however, receive a military discount. The rooms were clean and we did receive free WiFi. It was just OK, and an easy half hour drive to Sisters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice. The rooms were spacious. They had a nice complementary hot breakfast. Just a so mote, the rooms were motel-style so the motel room doors were outside and not inside a building to get into the rooms. On the negative side, the shower water was hard to get warm and when it got warmer it was luke warm at best. Also, the water pressure was bad. Overall, my family and I would give our experience an rating of four stars out of five.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion for one night while passing through on our way to eastern Oregon. It's right on the main drag going into town so you can't miss it. The check-in staff were very friendly and efficient. There were even chocolate chip cookies and coffee in the lobby when we arrived! We were given a small map of the property with the exact location of our room. The hotel has an outdoor pool and jacuzzi - perfect for unwinding after a day of sightseeing. The room was decent sized, with comfortable beds and a vanity separate from the enclosed tub/shower and toilet. Coffee maker in the room and mini-fridge. Large desk with office chair. The ONLY complaint I had was that if you were sitting at the desk, there was no room in between the desk and the bed so that your travel companion had to climb over the bed to get into the room. Complimentary breakfast the next morning was very good: hot scrambled eggs and sausage, breakfast potatoes, pastries, cereal/milk, coffee and juice. And if you are 50+ you get a small discount, don't even have to have AARP! I will stay here again next time I'm in Bend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Some of the reviews I read about this Red Lion were a bit negative. However, the price was right so I willed myself to take the risk and was, fortunately, pleasantly surprised. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and up-to-date in appearance. However, my travel companion and I both agreed the pillows were a bit lumpy and the mattress was a tad hard for my liking (but I love an ultra soft mattress). There was a full complementary breakfast, including eggs, bacon, breakfast potatoes, pancakes, assorted cereals and fresh fruits and assorted beverages. However, my firend and I both skipped the bacon as it tasted underdone. Thankfully we didn't get sick. Otherwise, enjoyable stay and I would repeat my stay if in Bend again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has a high profile in the Bend visitors guide. The hotel website brags about their "Roaring Start" breakfast. So we thought we were getting a great deal when the rates included this breakfast. Think again. The breakfast isn't any different than other hotels free hot breakfast--cereal, breads, scrambled eggs, sausage, a pancake machine, bananas, apples, juice, coffee & tea.
The hotel room was clean but dated. Our a/c unit barely worked, whereas in our friends room, they were freezing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (early August).

We got a room at the second floor. No elevator, so I had to bring all my bags. They need to consider who would benefit most from being downstairs vs. upstairs. The second floor walking platform is very slanted. Weird. Doesn't feel unsafe when you walk on it.

Pool was very clean, deep and has a hot tub. Pool is outdoor.

Internet was not steady all the time.

Breakfast was very very nice and healthy. Lots of fresh whole fruit and fruit salad. Scramble eggs, pancakes, bread, yogurt, etc. Very complete. I find this is consistent with other Red Lions I visited. They even had salsa for the eggs...

Location was great, close to Sunriver, close to shopping, etc.

Nicest thing about this hotel: "The Black Bear Diner". I gave them my double A and 5/5 review. What a nice casual eatery. Great for hungry visitors...

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing up stairs with your lugagge, make sure you call hotel and ask them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bend

Also Known As:
Red Lion Bend
Bend Red Lion
Address: 1415 NE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bend
#5 Business Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Bend 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Bend OR is centrally located in the heart of downtown Bend on Business 97. Nearby, you will find 28 golf courses, the High Desert Museum, Deschutes County Expo Center and historic downtown. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the area's hundreds of miles of bike and hiking trails, rivers, lakes, Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort and numerous state parks.For your convenience, our 75 non-smoking guest rooms are equipped with amenities that include Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. We also feature a seasonal, outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet included in your rate. The whole family will enjoy dining at our Black Bear Diner for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On-site, we also offer 2,000 square feet of meeting space for board meetings, family gatherings, seminars or corporate meetings of 10 to 50 people. Room service is also available through Black Bear Diner.For additional dining choices, Bend boasts over 275 restaurants and brew pubs, many of which are within a 3-block radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.