We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the resort was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Lake Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Lake Resort and Marina
Save
You added Elk Lake Resort and Marina to your Saves list
60000 Century Dr, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bend
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lunch at the resort was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've never stayed at Elk Lake (except at a private lodge), but on September 21st we were out exploring the Cascades Lakes/Century Drive area, and decided to grab a bite to eat at the resort. We were surprised by the beers on tap, and tried a double IPA from Boneyard while we decided what to eat. Again, we chose the same thing: a yummy, huge, tasty corned beef sandwich. The food was great, the service was good, and the view from the outside deck was to die for. Elk Lake is gorgeous, there were several sailboats and other boats on the lake, and it was the perfect place to spend a few hours on the last day of our week in the Bend area. We'll definitely check out the resort as a place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Elk Lake Lodge/Resort/Campground is in a scenic part of the Deschutes to N.F., on a beautiful, clear lake. Accomodations range from luxe "cabins" to tent camping. It is open year round, although only accessible by snow machine or ski in the winter. i opted for a basic, one room log cabin with loft, 2 other beds, a table and propane lighting and heat. Sanitary facilities were steps away. There was a fire ring and front porch. In mid september, the place was nearly empty. I slept in the loft on their foam pads (doubled up for comfort). At this basic level, you supply your own bedding. With my light sleeping bag, the loft remained comfortable without using the heater, although the temp outside dipped into the 30's. The staffers were outstanding; friendly and helpful in the low-key Oregonian way. The restaurant and bar serve good local beer and fare; I recommend the elk chili most highly. In the morning, even though the restaurant didn't open until 1000, they let me in for (excellent) coffee (no charge) so I could walk along the shoreline enjoying the calm water and ducks offshore. I wound up spending under $100. for lodging, 2 meals and a couple of beers. Who can beat that???

Room Tip: see their website for choices - wide range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at the resort for 4 nights and couldnt have been treated any better. The staff were completely attentive to all our needs. The food in this old lodge restaurant was off the charts and the manager obviously has a deep passion and love for this place. We were amazed at all the things they do there. We rented boats, hiked around the lake. The manager even took us on a 4 mile paddleboard tour around the lake. Roasted smores in the evening and really had a great time. Just one note, while we do have a dog and love them I appreciate that they dont allow dogs in the restaurant and deck. We love animals but not everyone does and they should be able to enjoy their meal. There are plenty of other places to eat where dogs welcome. We will be back next summer

Room Tip: Book early as they fill up for summer quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

While exploring the cascade lakes scenic byway, we decided to stop by at the Elk Lake resort to do a little canoeing and have lunch. The canoes were a little pricey ($45 for 2 hours) but I suppose it was a small price to pay to be able to canoe in such a beautiful lake. Dogs were allowed on the canoe which is a huge plus since we travel everywhere with our two pups. However, I was a little put off with the kid that was helping us out. He basically said "fill this out and get a life jacket before leaving." So that was the extent of his help. Well, whatever, he looks like he was forced to take that summer job by one of his parents. Well, now, to the real reason I am giving this place a rather lousy review:

After returning the canoes we walked up to the restaurant and to be courteous (since we saw a couple dining with their dogs on the deck) asked a waitress if we could sit on one of the empty seats on the deck with our dogs. As she walked passed us, not even stopping she said: "No dogs are allowed on the deck." I was a little upset but decided that this was going to be our best shot at eating while in the scenic byway so I asked my girlfriend to go in and ask if it was okay to order and sit out in the picnic benches right in front of the hotel. Well, guess what, not a single person in this joint gave her the time of day. Very rude, very disappointing. We took our meal elsewhere and it was probably for the best. It seems like the people working here are a bunch of snobby little kids trying to make some summer cash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

a woman friend and I stayed at #1 camp cabin; when I called was told they had real beds. They did not..they had old, yucky foam pads..well used; the loft had even worse ; both were covered in blankets that looked disgusting. there were old undies under the beds. the shower facilities down the road were dirty. I won't go on...the heat is propane and looked dicey.

The resort itself is a fun place on a mountain lake with boat rentals and a a restuarant. The staff were young and friendly, especially in the restuarant.

It is said that the cabins are ok, not in the same conditiion.

We would never stay there again. It's a lovely location amdist gorgeous mountain lakes.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We just popped in while exploring to check out the resort after seeing the website. The staff was warm and fun. They had a great selection of local brews on tap. We only tried the calamari appitizer and it was good but a little heavy on the breading.
Definately want to come back and stay in one of the rentals. This looks like a really fun place and had a great feel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Central Oregon's Elk Lake Resort is a rare hideaway in today's fast-paced modern world. It's orginal log building dates back to the early 1900s but it has evolved gracefully to an all season getaway that offers modern amenities with great food and drink plus a charming and helpful staff. In the winter guests can choose to stay in a rustic cabin with a pot belly stove or a full-up modern log home facing the lake and Mt. Bachelor. We choose the latter with two other couples and had a blast! We were picked up from a nearby sno-park by one of the resorts track Suburbans and driven 40 min past mountain streams, ancient lava flows, and snow-capped mountains to our destination.

The next three days were spent in bright sunshine snowshoeing and cruising around the lake and hills in the resort's snowmobiles. In the evening, we migrated to the lodge with its eclectic collection of offbeat memorabilia spanning several decades. After filling our drink orders the staff lit a warm bonfire in front of the lodge so we could toast the full moon as it rose over Mount Bachelor and frozen Elk lake. Across the three days we all felt like we had stepped into a magical winter wonderland with the charm and simplicity that you can't find in the fancy lodges and hotels that typically dot the winter landscape. Next time we'll bring our cross-country skiis!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elk Lake Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Lake Resort and Marina

Address: 60000 Century Dr, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bend
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Lake Resort, one of Oregon's most beautiful vacation destination spots Nestled in amongst South Sisters, Broken Top and Mt. Bachelor mountain ranges, Elk Lake Resort is truly an all season oasis. The resort's mountain views and pristine lake waters invite you to enjoy everything the outdoors has to offer. Summer months bring a whole new experience to those who stay with us at Elk Lake Resort. Imagine yourself paddle boarding or canoeing thru pristine waters in the morning, only to be interrupted by the fish jumping and the birds chirping, or picnicking aboard a pontoon boat, visiting all of the Elk Lake shorelines. Come relax in the late afternoon and sit on the deck of the Historic Lodge listening to music from many of the areas favorite musical artists. Access all Central Oregon has to offer while experiencing it first hand at Elk Lake Resort! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Lake Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.