We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, great cause!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Common Table - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Common Table
150 NW Oregon Ave, Bend, OR 97701
(541) 639-5546
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, wi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, great cause!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Specifically went to downtown Bend to find this place for lunch. Great concept with the goal to allow anyone good, wholesome food, even if money is an issue. My young daughter demolished the tomato soup and grilled cheese, I completely loved the grilled artichoke. BIG portions, great staff.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Eat, Drink, Relax, Feel Good about doing so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Common Table is a resaturant that is also a charity. Servers are volunteers, so the service is uneven, but the food is good and affordable, and you can enjoy it with a local beer. There are big tables for meeting new people, or smaller tables for more private dining.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a downtown restaurant dedicated to providing meals to a great variety of patrons. It provides a good substantial meal to anyone who comes in regardless of their ability to pay. The variety of meals and programs is always varied, delicious and exciting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“More than great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

To start with, the food was outstanding. We had lunch and my pulled pork sandwich was large and delicious. It tasted very fresh and didn't have the heavy sauce many places add. As a side dish, I had the soup of the day. It was watermelon. A gazpacho style with watermelon chunks, tomatoes and seasonings. Refreshing and tasty on a hot summer day.

My wife had the Southwestern Bowl. A huge serving of black beans, lettuce, rice, nachos, tomatoes, etc. Delightful.

The French press decaf coffee was tremendous, as was the black bean cake we shared as an appetizer.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Offered suggestions and explained the menu and excellent wine list.

On top of having a great meal at a reasonable price, the restaurant's vision and community service was inspiring. They buy local to support area businesses and utilize fresh ingredients. They also use profits to feed those in need. Their Common Table philosophy extends beyond the impressive single plank hard wood table in the center of the dining room. Restaurant is a draw for discussion, entertainment and meeting folks. What a great find.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Delicious, great value, and it supports the community!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I love this restaurant!! Common Table is a non profit eatery, that supports those may not beable to eat in such a nice place. There is a huge wood table that anyone can sit at, or small tables inside or out. I had the Southwestern Taco Salad, 1/2 portion, which I had to take half of it home, for $8, I believe. Happy Hour, the Med Plate, with hummus, pita bread, greek salad with olives, and a glass of wine was $9, total......The quality of the food is outstanding, the atmosphere is friendly, operated almost totally by volunteers. Free WI FI, a library, magnet board and neat decor, with a full bar.......I promise, you will enjoy!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Table also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Common Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.