We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that lived up to their reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Fusion & Sushi Bar

Five Fusion & Sushi Bar
821 NW Wall Street, #100, Bend, OR 97701
541.323.2328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 367 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Plano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A place that lived up to their reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We ate at several places which were "rated" pretty high accordingly to the local literature and ended up being very disappointed in our meals until we took a chance on 5 Fusion. Not expecting much since Bend is located smack dab in the middle of the state, we were so excited with our first dish that we kept ordering more and more to try as much as we could till we couldn't eat any more. It was by far the BEST restaurant we ate at during our vacation in Oregon...this includes places in Portland, too. My most favorite was the calamari with yuzu aioli..the calamari was very small and not chewy at all and that aioli dipping sauce was wonderful! Kudos to the James Beard winning chef! It is worth going during Happy Hour since you can get some of the better appetizers at a discounted price but reservations is highly recommended. I wish we had discovered this gem early on instead of our last night in the Bend area...I would have definitely made a trip a couple more times.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good choice for dinner in the downtown area. Food is very good, service is excellent. Probably need reservations if you're going after 6PM gets full. Not a big place, but not noisy either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stylish and yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Very hip, stylish room with creative, tasty food for foodies. The lovely owner is from Hong Kong and introduced herself, making sure we liked our meal. She was delighted we are from the Bay Area and said her executive chef trained under Thomas Keller at French Laundry - wow, who knew there was that kind of quality in Bend? We enjoyed the sushi and the lobster crab red curry. Great service and more affordable than big city fare: with wine, tip, and no sales tax, 2 of us enjoyed a great dinner for $100.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We certainly picked a winner for our first meal in Bend. Super friendly staff, excellent choice on the sake (thanks Tiffany!) and just delicious sushi. Sushi was very fresh, melts in your moth and very tasty rice. Rolls were excellent. Been to Nobu in NYC and a few great spots in LA, and this is right there with them. Too bad we don't have time for another meal here but I definitely plan on returning to Bend and 5 Fusion will be the first meal I eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff & Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

After a day of meetings that ended wicked late- I was hoping something, anything was open downtown.
Five Fusion was.

The Cucumber Gimlet was so good- I could not stop ordering them. (Thankfully my hotel was within walking distance:) The waitress recommended the Geisha roll (spicy tuna, cucumber, avocado, topped with salmon, mango, yuzu tobiko and unagi sauce) and she was dead on. It was perfect. The maguro was perfect also. Just like a buttery piece of happiness on rice.

The ambiance was lovely, the staff was charming, and the Cucumber Gimlet is now my BFF in Bend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Fusion & Sushi Bar also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Five Fusion & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Fusion & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.