We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also Sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cultus Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cultus Lake Resort
Save
You added Cultus Lake Resort to your Saves list
Cascade Lakes Highway, Bend, OR 97709   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corvallis
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Also Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The way my family was treated by Dan left us all in disbelief and saddened. The issue we had is some of those "numerous complaints" did not pertain to our group. We did stay up past 10pm one night and when he told us about some of the guests complaining about the noise, we apologized and did not do so again the remainder of our stay. This was not an act of disrespect to the Owners or other guests. We were having a good time playing a board game and did not realize how loud we were. As far as having an excessive number of people, we did have friends come and visit throughout the week, as we have had in past visits with no problems. If Dan had asked us how many people were staying in each cabin, instead of looking through our windows, we would have told him and tried to 3 times. As a customer you believe your voice should be heard, in this case it was not. He put more importance on what he "heard" from other people than the truth.

We were never asked not to return. We made the choice not to return to Cultus Lake when we were called dishonest and told that we were disposable.

I am disappointed that one of the owners responded to my family members post on here, but would not talk to us in person about the situation. There are other posts on here with low reviews and you did not comment on those.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    3
    7
    10
See reviews for
50
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wow, the last review has me stumped. We not only enjoyed the owners and their families but felt like we were friends by the time we checked out. They are not only gracious hosts (keeping us informed of all the goings on in and around the area, making our charges as simple as possible, helping the little ones catch a fish!), but very interesting and funny people. The owners are one of our favorite things about Cultus. But the list goes on and on-The lodge could not more picturesque-The setting is amazing with views of South Sister and Bachelor. The cabins were clean and well appointed, just right for our needs. We had several family members on this trip and we each had our own little unit (with remarkably comfortable beds) and shared the outdoor firepit/picnic table area. There is so much to do in the area we couldn't fit it all in-Right from the lake, hiking, biking, kayaking, fishing, boating and a great restaurant. Then just a short drive to Bend, Sun River and all those towns have to offer. Great, great resort-We are SO glad to have discovered Cultus Lake. We're planning to return next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The owners are very accommodating and welcoming. The cabins are clean and the views of the lake are spectacular! We always reserve our cabin for a stay before the Fourth of July to avoid the crowds, so the vibe may be more relaxed and the service more personable. We've already booked a cabin for next year, our 4th consecutive year. If you're looking for a hot tub, a swim-up bar, and daily linen service, look elsewhere. Cultus Lake Resort is one of Oregon's best-kept secrets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Folks, it you ever wanted to get away from it all, but have it all at your fingertips, you owe it to yourself to checkout/check-in to the Cultus Lake Resort nestled in the heart of central Oregon’s Cascades.

I have been eating there for years, but this was my second stay at the resort. Both were a week in length. My father, old college roommate and his son joined me for a week of fishing and R&R.

What can I say, “it was a great time with the accommodations, the food, the setting, the cabin, the lake and just sheer peace greeting you after a day of fishing”. Not to mention the hospitality of the staff and how they made us feel right at home.

Everything from home cooked breakfasts, lunches and dinners, to fabulous deserts such as cake, pie, and ice cream to die for.

There was plenty of wildlife spotted with mule deer (including some bucks in velvet), elk, osprey, eagles and the fishing off the chart on the Deschutes river just three miles from there.

Whether you want to spend the night, spend the day, or just stop in on your way through, you will not be disappointed and will make your way back the next time you are passing through.

You have plenty of hiking trails by foot, horseback, a.t.v. and bikes along with lakes, streams and wonderful snowcapped mountain views. It’s a post card waiting to happen.

What are you waiting for?

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin near the water. Although all have a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family has been staying here for years. None of us will be back. Its really to bad because the lake and local are great. The staff and owners are horrible. Poor service, and disrespecting ownership is not how you run a business. I have wrote reviews in the past to let people know what a great time we had. If I had a bad time I just let it be. Never wrote a bad one or felt the need untill now. We where treated so bad that a few of our party started crying. Never have I been talked to or treated like this by a resort, lodge, or park. I will go out of my way to tell people to not stay at clr every chance I get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenelliff, Owner at Cultus Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We at Cultus Lake Resort would like to respond to this families review. This family has been staying with us at Cultus for several years, renting 4 of our cabins. We have always enjoyed having them as our guests, they have always been respectful of our facilities as well as our policies, until this year. We had numerous complaints from other cabin guests regarding the family being loud until late at night as well as them having an excessive amount of guests spending the days and evening's around the cabin area. Our cabin guests come to Cultus Lake Resort for the peace and tranquility we offer as well as the beautiful setting. It was a hard decision for us to have to make asking this family not to come back and stay with us again, but it was either that or loose some of our other guests that were unhappy with the lack of respect that this family not only showed us as resort owners but also fellow guests staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just returned from a trip to Cultus Lake Resort with my husband and 2yr old daughter. It was our first time there, and we were in love! The grounds are beautiful, the lake is beautiful, the cabin we stayed in (#6) had the most gorgeous view of the lake. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The cabin is a rustic style cabin. I was a little worried staying here after reading a few of the earlier reviews as they said the cabin was bare, too rustic, etc. I couldn't disagree more, because these were so lovely! I'm assuming anyone that would complain about anything at this resort are your high maintenance types, and should go elsewhere. The staff were very friendly and so laid back. Renting jet skis and paddle boats was so easy and simple. With all that said, I can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: If you have kids: I suggest the waterfront cabins close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Because we only had the day to enjoy the holiday we decided to take a ride up to Cultus Lake Resort and have lunch. It was a beautiful day, not a cloud in the sky. The lake was beautiful, but a little to cold for swimming.

We sat outside on the Resort's new patio and enjoyed a very nice meal. The service was wonderful and the food was great!

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cultus Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cultus Lake Resort

Address: Cascade Lakes Highway, Bend, OR 97709
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bend
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Cultus Lake Hotel Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cultus Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.