We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's Italian Grill

Johnny Carino's Italian Grill
63455 US Highway 97, Bend, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 368 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I ordered "Johnny's Pizza" from the bar menu and it was great. Perfec or one person. The house made pizza sauce was as rich and tasty as any I've ever had. The toppings were bacon (!), olives, roma tand gorgonzola and they worked wonderfully together (also supposed to include carmelized pecans (??) themto hold those and am just as glad I did. Can't speak to the rest of the meu, but the pizza was great and an excellent deaust $8.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
white salmon wa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“great fod and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first time at a Johnny Carino's so we weren't sure what it was like other than our room menu and it sounded good. The server was super nice, he noticed our Sturgis shirts so we got talking motorcycles.The food doesn't come with salad or soup like olive garden but we did get breadsticks.That's the good news because I had the chicken parmigan and it was so good I was glad I wasn't full from the other stuff. Husband had spaghetti and meatballs.He really liked it, I had a bite of his & it had a lot of flavor.We walked away stuffed and happy for trying a new restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“I would not get close to Olive Garden if these guys were around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went to dinner here and had a great meal. The service was good and the food very good. My wife had the Mac and Cheese and that did not work for me ( to much added crap ruining and good thing), but she liked it and that's all that mattered. Hot bread with balsamic vinegar is really good to get you going, so all in all a nice restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like the comfort, care & cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Italian food is comfort food for sure, especially on a cold winter day. So this is the spot to enjoy a glass of wine with a friend and a light meal or fine full Italian dish. Their soup is flavorable and salads crisp. Go for happy hour or try the special dinner for two. The chicken parmesan needs to be improved, and chicken piccata should be added to their choices. Have yet to try the desserts which always is a guide for me as to the quality of a great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We really enjoyed the food. However it is very busy and it did take awhile. Had a few mishaps - minor - server and manage too very good care of us do to the problem.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's Italian Grill also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Johnny Carino's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Carino's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.