We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 29, 2013 Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's Italian Grill

Johnny Carino's Italian Grill
63455 US Highway 97, Bend, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 320 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“April 29, 2013 Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Returning diner. This time I brought five additional friends. We were seated promptly, our drink orders taken, and food ordered within 10 minutes (we knew what we wanted). Food arrived quickly. I again had the 16 layer lasagne, it was wonderful, best I've ever had. I highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We're Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I used to eat here frequently a year or two back, then the service changed, the manager wouldn't honor official Carino's coupons & specials. It was basically bad news then and there are plenty of choices for the food dollar in Bend. NOW: Last evening we ventured in due to a gift card we had received. We were surprised at the friendliness of the staff. The food was good as usual. A smiling manager even visited the table to see how things were. I hope this was not just a Tuesday evening anomaly. Carino’s food is so much better than their franchise competition. OG salts their food so heavily that it is unpalatable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here tonight. Ordered our dinner and drinks, and about 20 minutes we finally got our beers. Took at least as long to get a second round. Food was okay. They were not very busy but service was horrible. Will not return. I do not understand how they can stay in business when you get better service in Taco Bell drive thru.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just went for the first time with my family. Was great!! We went on a Friday night at around 4:30 but we got right in, waited on and food to the table within 30 minutes max. All our meals were fabulous and the service was outstanding, all were very nice, attentive and very helpful with menu choices for the whole family. We would go back for sure!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Italian Chain done right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is such a yummy place. I had my first date with my husband here and have enjoyed the restaurant ever since. My favorite dish is the chicken penne gorganzola. Did I mention the bread...?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's Italian Grill also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Johnny Carino's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Carino's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.