We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Italian Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's Italian Grill

Johnny Carino's Italian Grill
63455 US Highway 97, Bend, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 368 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gearhart, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Superior Italian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place was a surprise. I expected upon arrival to get a Olive Garden-like experience. While the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly like OG, the food, service, value, portions, bar and overall experience was way beyond that of a moderately priced italian restaurant.

Great job at every aspect of this great restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Bend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Service was great. Food was great. We ordered drinks, appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. All was great. The entree's had a great bold flavor. My Bellini was huge and delicious. This was out third time there and it is great every time. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“quiet and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My best friend and I stopped for dinner after a class and had a great meal. We ate in the bar, however there were children in there. I don't understand that.

I had their soup and salad. EXCELLENT. They offer to bring you refills, but honestly, one serving of each was more than I should eat! Their bread is served warm in a small loaf you need to break apart. They serve olive oil with toasted garlic with their bread. I felt the bread and olive oil offering was below average. Not fond of either; however the soup made up for it. It was delicious.

I noticed they do take-out which would be convenient, too. Yes, we will go back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch a good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Their Caesar salad is superb, and it is served on well chilled plates which enhances it. Paninis are big enough to share.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“For Italian -- try this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place was here before Olive Garden and we like it better! Many interesting dishes at nice prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's Italian Grill also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Johnny Carino's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Carino's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.