We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Bend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lara House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lara House Bed and Breakfast
640 NW Congress St, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Visit Bend August 4-6th
Ranked #4 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in Bend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lara House is a lovely inn located in a charming neighborhood with a park across the street and within walking distance of the town center. The interior is beautifully appointed, well maintained and clean. There is a lovely front porch and back deck to sit and enjoy after a day of driving or hiking. Local wine or beer and a cheese platter were offered to us, there were cookies and drinks ready for the taking at any time. Breakfast was delicious. Sarah, the innkeeper is young and very new at her job... she does well for her inexperience with the area. There is not the warmth that one feels in many b&b's, but I think it has to do with her inexperience.....but she is really trying hard. If I were to return to Bend or know someone going there, I would recommend Lara House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    11
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winters, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Sarah, the innkeeper, and the smell of home-baked cookies greeted us at our arrival. Sarah gave us the tour of common rooms and our room. The home's interior is very tasteful and in keeping with the 100 year old craftsman style architecture. Our bathroom included spa toiletries and guest robes. "Happy Hour" from 5-6 included local wine, beer and cheese trays. It was a great way to meet and greet the other guests. The location of Lara's is across the street from a park on the river and is just blocks from many restaurants, bars and shopping. Breakfast portions were very large. On the first morning, Sarah bagged our scones and we had them as snacks on a Tumalo falls hike! The lemon chiffon pancakes on the second morning were decadent! We were there for a weekend and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Everything about the house's style and decor is perfect. The location across from Drake Park & Mirror Pond is so convenient and you can walk to downtown Bend's restaurants and shops. Plus we enjoyed the staff very much and the gourmet breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lara House was the perfect getaway! The interior of the house is charming and welcoming, and the bedrooms spacious, unique, and luxurious. Small details like wine and beer hour make for an added bonus. Breakfast in the morning is fresh and delicious, and served by friendly staff. Not to mention, the location couldn't be better! Right across the street from Drake Park and the Deschutes River, and within walking distance to downtown, Lara House is the perfect place to explore the many activites Bend has to offer. I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The Summit Room is the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the location was perfect, close to downtown and right across from the beautiful park. Breakfast each morning was delicious, creative, and served with a smile. Staff was pleasant and even accommodated our request for breakfast earlier than scheduled so we could eat before going on a bike tour, which was appreciated and above & beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Lara House is a great example of a nice spot to stay in one of the most beautiful areas of Oregon. The rooms are all comfortable, spacious, and outfitted luxuriously. The house is within easy driving distance of many great outdoor locations, such as Smith Rock and Mount Bachelor, allowing the perfect home base for all of your outdoor pursuits. If the outdoors are not your cup of tea, the house is located right in the heart of Bend, allowing travel to many great locations within the city. The house is very well maintained, and offers much for private individuals and social ones as well. I would highly recommend this place to a friend, and will look forward to staying there again should I find myself in Bend again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Lara House Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay as you enjoy the historic town of Bend, Oregon. The craftsman style house is beautiful and inviting with six clean elegant rooms. My Husband and I were able to stay up in the Summit room, which was the biggest room and the most romantic. We had our own living room to lounge in, along with an amazing king size bed, and walk in bathroom. Breakfast is from 8:30 to 9:00am and was extremely delicious; the Inn Keeper Caitlynn sure knows how to start of your day right, with a filling breakfast that is made from all local products and changes daily. I truly enjoyed coming back to the Bed and Breakfast from a long day filled with hiking and exploring bend, I was able to enjoying a delicious glass of wine in front of the cozy fire place to unwind from the day. When it was time to go home, I found my self not wanting to leave! I will be returning very soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lara House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lara House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 640 NW Congress St, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara House Bed and Breakfast, a magnificent 1910 craftsman, offers a unique and luxury experience for adults seeking a getaway in Downtown Bend. Located in a historic neighborhood, the Lara House overlooks Drake Park and the Deschutes River and is only two blocks away from Downtown Bend’s wonderful boutique shops and fantastic restaurants.Our six guest rooms have world-crafted eclectic furnishings, exquisite linens, and down comforters, all with private baths. The common areas are cozy and intimate, but spacious enough to give you privacy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lara House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lara House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list