We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experienced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cascade Lodge to your Saves list
Cascade Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 3rd Street, Bend, OR 97702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very bad experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I were fooled by a surprising 3 star ranking in a reservation site.

We were disappointed as it is an old type one story motel from the 50's located in the least appealing of very nice city of Bend (OR)

It was advertised as refurbished. For the owner refurbishing is not changing the bathrooms lights and beds but putting some paint over the mildew infected walls. The first room was very dark and very very smelly. My wife say that it will depress anybody to stay there (we booked for 10 days..)

The owner showed us a second room which was a little less dark but kept the horrible smell mixing mildew and new painting. It was not appealing and certainly not at the 3* standard. I noticed that Trip Advisor gave it a 2* status. For us, who travel all over the world, it is not, but a 1• motel. The prices however were unfortunately at the 3 star level . We really consider that we must advise the visitors of the reality of this motel and to avoid the one day penalty charge that we get when we flee it to go to another charming and delicious hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a good choice for an inexpensive lodging. It was very clean, comfortable with decent continental breakfast ....good muffins and other choices. Nice staff and surprised that the noise factor between rooms was nil....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The room condition is quite good. clean and quite. The furniture and amenities are decent. The front is very kind and helpful. wifi also works great. We will definitely visit again and recommend for anyone who wants economic hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My mother and I stopped here for a night on a road trip and were amazed at the room. It was HUGE - almost like an apartment. Bobby, the owner, said that it was a "deluxe" room since that was all he had available but he discounted the price so it really wasn't much more than the "regular" rooms. He was super friendly and helpful. The motel is located on the south end of Bend, so that it's quite convenient if you're visiting Newberry Volcanic National Monument. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

When we arrived the electronic key-making machine wasn't working, so the staff had to run back and forth letting people into their rooms. This they did with good humour and it was no inconvenience. The room was large, with comfortable beds and good-quality linens. Continental breakfast was available in a room next to reception - plenty of choice and room to sit, even though the hotel was pretty full. It would be a bit of a hike to walk to the centre of town, but by car it was only a few minutes. We thought it was good value for high season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hines, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed here many times when in Bend for Dental or Doctor appts. Bobby (Owner) is friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and beds are VERY COMFORTABLE! A good mattress is #1 priority for me. The water is quite hot so keep that in mind when using sink or shower. You can't get a better Motel for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This motel was clean and comfortable and good value. The pool was a great temp and also clean. There was also fresh towels left out for pool usage which is a new touch. The selection for continual breakfast was also good and it was nice to sit in the patio and relax with coffee. There are lots of homely touches here such as hanging baskets and potted flowers and the property is well kept. Check it out if you are in Bend for the price its hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 420 3rd Street, Bend, OR 97702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cascade Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.