We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View of the River and fun for the dog.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Bend
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nice View of the River and fun for the dog.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Bend, OR on 11/14/09 with our dog. This a good time to go to Bend, OR since it's a slow time and the rates are cheaper. Ski season starts around Thanksgiving. The hotel is more like several lodges with a conferance and dining area. We had a king room on the ground floor with a view of the river from the back patio. Since it was a slow time, we didn't hear any noise next or above our room. The room needs updating (lots of brown) but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We had a good breakfast with more options than most hotels provide. Breakfast is included with the rate. The staff were very nice. If you can look past the old decore, this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    148
    84
    49
    28
See reviews for
114
166
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

The service was very good. Extra blankets, towels and the roll away bed were delivered promptly on request.
We were placed in a handicap room. The shower was hard for the taller members of my family to use
The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. Everything was in good working order.
The location was very pet friendly. The parking lot was not busy and there was plenty of marked places to walk our dog. Right out the back sliding door, which was a private area, was available for our dog.
The grounds were well kept and overall it was a quiet place to stay.
We really liked the breakfast buffet provided with the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I was travelling solo, but brought my dog along with me to make for an interesting trip. The hotel had a nice little area to take my dog and they had sufficient room space so we could both stretch out. The staff were very helpful and it was nice to have a warm cooked breakfast before heading out on the road again. Everything was great. I have stayed here once before and will definitely stay again. They even upgraded me to a better room since they had kitchenettes available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband at I went out to Bend for the weekend with friends.
We really enjoyed our stay - the room was cozy & well arranged with a small kitchen. The bed was comfortable.
Outside our sliding door, we saw only a pretty scene with trees and the river, so it felt really private. Also, the sound of the running water added to the feeling of being away from it all.
The food at the restaurant is excellent and the waitress & the bartender were
both very friendly.
All and all, we had a very enjoyable & relaxing time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Our stay at the Shilo Inn Suites Hotel in Bend, Oregon was delightful. The room was very spacious, modern and elegant. The fireplace added a nice cozy feeling. Our room was a river view that was a relaxing feeling. The hot breakfast buffet had something for everyone. I would highly recommmend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

I guess I expected too much, based on the high praise on TripAdvisor. Our $130+ room was just adequate, and all furnishings were dated. Our "river view" was so obstructed by trees that we just were able to see a small patch of water from our second-story balcony. For that privilege, we had a hill to climb to get to breakfast. But the riverview rooms were right next to the pool, fitness center, and laundry. The fitness center is good for such a small property -- a small variety, but all in working order.
Service was mixed -- some folks just going through the motions, while others were very helpful. Breakfast included a good variety of hot and cold items, but the 'restaurant' has a deserted feel -- almost TOO spacious.
Based on the reviews here in TripAdvisor, I was hoping that this would be a high point of our Oregon trip, but it was not.
An aside: Go to the Pine Tavern restaurant in Bend! And get a seat out on the patio. Great food and a REAL river view!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed in a mini-suite on the 2nd floor of the 900's building for 2 nights while vacationing in Bend. The room and the hotel did not live up to my expectations. We paid extra for a river-view room, and it was definitely not worth it! The building was about 20 feet from the river, and we could not see the river. Overgrown trees and bushes completely covered any view of the river from our room. I certainly would not recommend paying extra for this river-view. I thought that maybe the view was better from the other buildings, so my son and I walked up a few buildings until the mosquitoes attacked. The view hadn't gotten any better. We did not use our balcony at all because of the mosquitoes and the lack of a view.
The room was dated and dark. Several items in the room needed to be repaired: one of the locks to the balcony didn't work and the toilet rocked. The furnishings seemed dated and tired. I was expecting a much prettier, secluded setting for the hotel and a nicer room for the money. Next time, I would look for a hotel which was newer and was located in more of an out-of-town area.
On the positive side, breakfast was included and was very good with many choices: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, pastries, etc.
The desk was understaffed when I checked out. There was only one person behind the desk who spent several minutes trying to help a woman find a dog park on a map. Meanwhile, four people were waiting to check-out. She did not ask how my stay was.
While in Bend, we had dinner at two wonderful restaurants: the Pine Tavern and Ciao Mambo.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.