We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor Housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

For the price we paid, we expected much more, specifically, better housekeeping. They did the standard linen service, but no other cleaning whatsoever. We pride ourselves on being good guests, which includes setting all our personal belongings out of the way so housekeeping can do their jobs more easily. Based on our experience with other hotels in this price range, that typically includes not just linen service, but some quick vacuuming of the floor and wiping down the tables, counters, sinks and tub. But the Shilo Inn Bend doesn't do any of this at all. Our carpet got increasingly dirtier over the course of our 3-night stay. Coming back to a neglected room like this each day is unacceptable at this price.

The staff were all helpful and courteous throughout our stay. They quickly stepped up and helped when housekeeping shorted us one bath towel and neglected to empty the full kitchen trash bin.

The buffet breakfast, included with the room price, was OK, but nothing spectacular. I would have gladly traded it for better housekeeping and an updated room with a modern TV.

Overall, this hotel desperately needs to be updated, upgraded, and serviced more effectively.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    131
    79
    47
    25
See reviews for
106
149
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baker City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Rude customer service...my cash deposit was difficult to get back and they had to call housekeeping to verify I didn't take their outdated salvation army style TV!!! Filthy furniture and torn...yuck!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Surprised ....needs updating.
While our room was clean and they provided great towels for the bath room, the over all condition needs a make over. The carpets while clean, are worn, both inside the rooms and the outdoor walk ways. The breakfast, provided in the price of the room, was better than other places. Fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs and potatoes, and decent coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is in downtown Bend. There are several restaurants nearby. I had a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was very comfortable. The wi-fi was very good. The staff is very helpful. There is an onsite restaurant where you are served a free breakfast buffet. Access is easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has it all. Great location near river, nice spacious rooms, delicious breakfast....but most of all really great employees. We got to the hotel late on July 15, 2014. While bringing in our luggage my three daughters witnessed a baby bird fall from the second story ledge. We couldn't ignore it, so we called the front desk (sorry I didn't catch her name, but she was very sweet) and asked if anyone could help us. She sent over a young man named Tarquin and later Isaac from security came to help also. Tarquin got the young bird settled in a box with cozy towels and Isaac was on the phone trying to find a wildlife refuge care facility to take the bird. Thanks to these young men and the management who let these employees do what was right. The bird was taken by Isaac to the care facility. It was so inspiring that these two men would go above and beyond to help what we came to find out was a gossling! It wasnt for show, they really had compassion for this creature and it made, what could of been a sad moment in our family road trip , into a heart warming experience. So thank you, thank you Isaac and Tarquin and Shilo Inn of Bend Oregon. We will most definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

BEWARE of this hotel. It has a number of rooms, (at least one full building) with dirty, old, tiny rooms that smell terrible. The rooms are nothing like those described on the hotel web site, where I made my reservation many months in advance of my "vacation". My "king suite" was so tiny, there was barely room to walk around the bed, it was probably last decorated in the early 1970's, it smelled of stale smoke and mold. The carpet was dirty and ugly. The room had one tiny window that looked at a parking lot. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls. Despite my repeated complaints to the front desk. particularly about the SMELL, the staff did not try to help or find a better room. Each time I returned to the lobby to complain, other people were at the desk also complaining about their rooms. The customer service was BAD, BAD, BAD. I travel frequently and this is THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. The property, I think, also has some newer better rooms, which explain why some people give it good reviews, but the terrible rooms seem quite abundant and booking way in advance, directly through the hotel website, certainly did not help us to get a decent room. I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANY SHILO INN AGAIN. YUCK, YUCK, YUCK. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE.

Room Tip: My time is do not stay at this hotel. Don't risk getting one of the terrible, small, dirty, sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The catch is that you get a river view. If your thinking clear fast moving water this is not it. Lawn area out side room covered with goose poop, but that's nature. The room appeared clean but very dark dated carpet, no bare feet for us. I covered the little couch with the extra sheet supplied so we didn't have to sit on years worth of (who knows what)? Dark interior and dim lighting, cheap furniture and old box TV. Had all the basics (tiny soaps etc.) and a little kitchenette and gas fireplace. BED HARD. We both tossed and turned trying to sleep. Would have checked out, but it was the 4th and nothing else without a hassle. Breakfast was ample, the grounds were clean and it was right across the street from a strip mall.

Room Tip: They are in the process of a remodel, and get an upper floor because you can hear people walking &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.