We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISIT TO BEND & SHILO INN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn - Bend

Save Saved
You added Shilo Inn - Bend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn - Bend
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Bend
1 review
“VISIT TO BEND & SHILO INN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Shilo Inn Bend 10 Oct to 13 Oct. Was the best accommodation out of 4 hotels we stayed at during our visit to USA. Room was nice, extremely comfortable, room service was excellent and most of all beverages were available. Staff was friendly and courteous at all times. Well done to the manager and his staff. Thank you. Sonnette & Jeantel Stander South Africa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sonnette,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great trip. We sure hope that if your travels bring you to Central Oregon, you will stop and see us again!

Best regards,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    115
    66
    40
    22
See reviews for
93
132
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I just read the negative reviews and would like to defend this place to some degree. We felt it was a decent place, with a good breakfast, for the price we paid. First of all, this was probably a very nice resort at one time, but was eventually purchased by the Shilo Inn people. Just a guess. As such, it's not your typical hotel, and yes, it does need updating. There are a number of separate buildings and all of the stair cases are in open air. No elevators. Having said that, we came into Bend late at night and asked for a nice room. The receptionist recommended a room on the third floor. By the way, she was nice. I agreed and maybe that's why we felt the room was good. We did have to lug our luggage up the stairs to the third floor, but the room was nice, clean and comfortable - even the bed. The third floor rooms have the tall, cathedral-style ceilings. We could open the sliding glass door looking out to a fairly unusable balcony for fresh air. I noticed that some of the inner, third floor rooms facing the courtyard did have usable balconies, but they probably cost more. The wi-fi worked great. It was a dark and rainy night and we slept well. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean, but really needed updating. The tissue paper dispenser was out. In the morning, we woke up to sunshine and were able to see the beautiful grounds that this hotel (or resort) was built on. Very nice. The breakfast was in what was once the resort's restaurant. Who knows, maybe it's still a restaurant, but everyone who walked in just seated themselves and had at the free breakfast. The food was decent. The eggs were real. You could tell. So were the pancakes - real, not frozen. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at at good value. I would stay here again if all of the rooms were as nice as the room we had on the third floor. Yes, this place needs updating - desperately, but I wasn't expecting the Hilton or the price that comes with a fancier hotel. Did I say the grounds were beautiful? This must have been a nice resort many, many years ago. By the way, there is an outdoor pool and there may even be an indoor pool.

Room Tip: It's a bit of a climb, but the third floor rooms may be the nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your stay. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and your room. We do have a variety of rooms on the property and have done some updating. Please stop in and see us again if you are in our area!

Best regards,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Terrible room, not very clean and in desperate need of an update. The bed is lumpy - mattress should have been replaced about a decade ago.

Went to the front desk to ask for a different room (the internet doesn't work either) and was given attitude by the girl at the front desk. If there isn't another room available, then that's fine, but please, there's no need to have such a poor attitude!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear LeRoy P,

I am so disappointed to find out that you were unhappy with your room. I am sorry we were not able to move you to a room that would have been more to your liking.

I will speak to the front desk agents about your experience. That is not living up to Shilo standards and will be addressed.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Room is a little outdated. TV was still tube and small. Not a very clear picture. Overall room is clean and the fireplace is a nice touch. Thank you as we have stayed in the Shilo Inns in the past, and enjoyed the experience



  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on replacing the older TV units. Please come and stay with us the next time you are in Bend.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, Durham
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were booked in here by our agent as part of a month long tour of the States. The site is attractive to look at and the gardener keeps the grounds neat and so we went to reception to check in. This area could do with the windows cleaned and being made more welcoming but our receptionist was friendly so we got our key. We had a pre-paid voucher for a standard room for 4 nights so were expecting the usual motel room.

This complex has the stairways on the outside and we are always given a ground floor, noisy room under the stairs so no change there! However, the room was dingy with chipped furniture, old-fashioned large tv and the dirtiest, stained carpet I've ever seen in a hotel room! As we were there for a while, we went back to reception and told them we wanted another room as the carpet was disgusting! After being made fun of by another receptionist at our use of the word 'disgusting' we were told the hotel was full but they had one room we could have. We asked to pay for an upgrade and the receptionist said she had none available and didn't know how much it would be when she had and if she quoted a figure she might get into trouble if it was wrong!

This room had been re-furbished, had a kitchen unit, was spacious and very nice. I cleaned the window inside as we didn't want to look at finger and nose prints on the glass and gave the coat hangers a dust then we settled in. Some of the rooms are by the river and this one had a lovely view with a patio. However, only cold water in the shower, only a hand-held shower out of the Ark which moved around when you tried to shower and no cold water from the washbasin for teeth cleaning. We tried again in the morning and discovered the shower fitting was on the wrong way so if you turn the water to cold you get hot! We cleaned teeth in the kitchen sink and put up with the archaic shower head - it was all too much hassle.

The restaurant is as uninviting as reception - the whole place needs a thorough clean, certainly the windows - but has a nice view of the garden and water feature. It was full at breakfast our first morning but tables were being cleared and food replaced. The next morning was very different - one man working, no clear tables, no bowls, no knives and forks, only grubby plates left, just a few dry slices of bread, little fruit salad and the floor around it was very sticky. It all looked like a plague of locusts had gone through. We bought our own breakfast and never went back.

I would have given this place only two stars but it has a lot going for it. It's over the road from shops and good restaurants and could be a winner with further investment and more staff. We will be suggesting to our agent that nobody is booked in here until the place has been sorted out.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a re-furbished room on the top floor and with a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I saw this regional chain while driving and decided to try it out. The cost was reasonable and it was easy to check in.

I was disappointed with the shower and construction. The shower was an inexpensive water saver shower which seemed strange in a place that waters their grass and scrubs. The hotel is made of wood including the floors so I heard the upstairs guest walking around all evening.

I would not stay in this specific location again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Grabill,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the shower head was not to your liking. I am happy that you found our price reasonable and the check in easy.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a small kitchenette and fireplace. It was definitely clean and recently renovated. The hotel itself, is a bit dated. Breakfast was adequate, and 2 staff members serving were very nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear suebinor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great that you found the 2 staff members very nice. We hope that you would come and stay with us again if you come back to Bend.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shilo Inn - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O.B. Riley Road, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn - Bend 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 12 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shilo Inn - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn - Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.